Bringing Old Friends Back Into the Mix

24 Feb

When you first start dating your boyfriend or girlfriend, you know part of the initiation involves meeting their friends. You have to smile, laugh at their jokes, and try to act cool while doing your best not to send any crazy vibes their way. Whether you like it or not, these friends will become a part of your life.

In this sometimes sticky relationship category, I got pretty lucky. Actually, I got pretty darn lucky.

But this story really does starts with a trip to French Immersion School. When doesn’t it, really?

In Grade 5, I decided to enrol in French Immersion classes only for one reason: Because my best friend was going so I went, too (we even wore the same purple LA Gear sweatshirt to our first day of class – egad). Regardless of why I went, I was terrible at French. And obviously fashion. But that’s besides the point…

To get study in the French Immersion program, we had to leave our current school, hop on a bus and take a 20-minute trip to the next town to another school, as it was the only local school offering the FI course. I think there were nine of us who left our local school grounds, and only three boys came with us: Conor, Richard and Dan.

We spent a lot of time together over those four years at the French Immersion Elementary School, and continued to do so throughout high school as we went from learning French verbs to writing essays in French (My Grade 12 French essay on Pierre Trudeau would have made him roll over in his grave, I’m sure – my French skills never really took a good turn). Though we had those French classes to keep our core group together, we drifted apart making news friends along the way. While our friendships dwindled in high school, Conor, Richard and Dan became friends with Jamally.

So when I first started dating Jamally in university, I realized something. I was going to get to bring these old friends back into the mix.

Sure enough, Conor, Richard and Dan became a part of my life again. And whenever we see them, it feels as though we left off from the last time we visited with them. I especially love it when we rehash our French Immersion days, while our partners shoot us tired stares.

Conor and Dan Before the Decathlon Challenge

Family Day decathlon

This past weekend we hung out together again as a group, and I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time. The night consisted of Richard and Dan taking part in a decathlon, and we got to craft the challenges. From a poetry contest to a film documentary, the boys showcased their best work and we voted on the best work. Who was the winner? In all honesty, as cheesy as it sounds – wait for it – I feel like I am, for getting to have these boys back into the mix. They are good friends to my husband, and I’ve feel like I’ve been grandfathered into this friendship circle. Crazy vibes and all.

 

9 Responses to “Bringing Old Friends Back Into the Mix”

  1. Richard McNamara February 24, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    The winner of the decathlon was me.

  2. Amy February 24, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Stupid question perhaps… why is there a kitchen sink outside?

  3. Liz February 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I’m addicted to reading this! Good job Chicken!

  4. Dan February 25, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    Easy Rich…if my latin does not fail me, the prefix “deca” means “ten”, last I checked we only completed nine events…. the belt has yet to be awarded.

    Amy, It’s a backyard sink. That’s why it’s outside.

  5. Maureen McGahey February 26, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    We always thought Dan was lucky to have this special group of friends for so many years. Life-long friends are a treasure.
    And, isn’t it great that you can continue to challenge each other to use your talents in such events as the recent dec-catholon.
    Great blog too!

Leave a Reply

