I Need Some Negativity Here, People…

24 Feb

…Or Just Some Awesome Facebook Posts

I feel like my most recent posts have been quite heartwarming pieces.

I met my half marathon goal. I have great friends. Jamally is a good husband. Blah. blah. blah.

If I want to keep my readership numbers up, I should jump on the negativity train, right. A lot of times we are interested in reading up on people’s lives to see if anything bad is going on. It’s kind of like watching a car crash. You can’t take your eyes off it.

The same can be said for Facebook status updates. The more negative the status, the better the read. The more positive the status, these people are classified as annoying.

But there is the odd exception.

And this exception is one of my Facebook friends. We went to high school together, are a few years apart, and played vball together in a Wednesday-night league throughout my university days. We are not close, but he makes me smile at least once a week.

And it’s because his Facebook status ROCK. I love them more than I love the Baby Bullet (Sidenote: I want the Baby Bullet. No, I don’t have a baby nor am I pregnant. It’s just that advertising works well on me).

This Facebook Friend’s Statuses are simple comments on life’s happenings, and how they can be ‘awesome’.

Here’s a Sampling:

“An absolute perfect parallel park with 3 passengers cheering you on… awesome”

“When someone’s trying to convince you they did not just get up at 1 o’clock but they have huge red sleep marks all over their face… awesome”

“The smell of spring… awesome”

“When Milhouse wrote ‘Milpool’ on Bart’s cast… awesome”

“Taking off your wet bathing suit and putting on warm clothes after you’ve swam for a while… awesome”

Aren’t they  terrific? Every time he posts these Facebook statuses up, I smile at his cleaver takes on life. I don’t have to analyze his life achievements, and he simply gives me a good dose of the feel goods… Awesome.

2 Responses to “I Need Some Negativity Here, People…”

  1. Emily February 27, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Reading your blog with a cup of tea when I can’t sleep…awesome

  2. Amber February 28, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Hey,

    So if you like those posts you should go buy ‘the Book of Awesome’ – I went to Banff this past weekend and on our travels I discovered this book. I was perusing through it as Dustin and I were eating lunch and was laughing out loud – It’s a great book and one that is guarenteed to put a smile on your face. It’s full of little anecdotes that will truly make you learn to love the little things in life.

Leave a Reply

