Post-Race Motivation Loss

26 Feb

Jamally and I Following the Race

Bad food and lethargic behaviour has been on my agenda this past week, which is typical behaviour for me post-race.

After completing last weekend’s half marathon, my motivation to lace up my running shoes and go for a run dwindled. A lot.

My legs have fully recovered from the run, but my mind hasn’t. I’m tired, and just want to take it easy. I’ve managed to make it out to one boot camp class, but that’s all I want to do right now.

With talks happening about completing a marathon for the first time this spring, there really isn’t any time to dilly-dally (is that how you spell it?) about training. If I wanted to do the Ottawa Race Weekend’s Marathon, then this Sunday’s long run calls for a 26-km trek. Even saying it makes me tired – and very whiny! I’d prefer a glass of wine, pizza and a good, long nap.

Today my sister and I are going out for a run, so hopefully it will inspire motivation.

Have you ever experienced this post-race motivation factor? Share your thoughts with me!

Other Thoughts?

1. My post-race hair was awful. It was in a complete messed-up balls of knots. I think it’s time for a haircut.
2. I don’t think any of the Jersey Shore characters like The Situation. 
3. After talking about marital annoyances, Jamally came home that same day with a dozen roses, not even knowing I had blogged about the topic (insert foot here).

Happy Weekend!

5 Responses to “Post-Race Motivation Loss”

  1. Darren February 26, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    I have the same problem Cathy! It’s your body telling you that you’re not fully recovered (even if you ‘think’ you are!) Don’t fight it. Relax until the motivation comes back.. just don’t eat too much junk 😉 A little bit is, of course, totally acceptable!

  2. Amy February 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    wouldn’t it be the best if you had a pet called The Situation?

    “The Situation, Come!”

    “Hi, my name is Amy. I have 3 pets. Lewis, Sam and The Situation”

    bahahaha!

  3. Amber February 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Yes this is totally normal….after my marathon I could barely get the courage to walk up a set of stairs let alone go for a run.
    However, it does get better and you will want to run again – I found after I pushed myself to go a couple times that I enjoyed it again but I had zero expectations (no time limits or distances set) for my first few jogs after the race and I think that made it easier

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services February 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      Thanks, Amber! I’m trying to get my running mojo back so that I can get into training. UGH, it’s not easy, is it?

Leave a Reply

