Dinner Meal Ideas

1 Mar

When the decision was made to freelance full-time from home, one major ‘pro’ was having the time to create some delectable dinners.  I’m not a very good cook, so was excited to have this opportunity to work on my kitchen skills. I could Slow cook! Saute! Sizzle!I figured I would be a writer by day, chef by 4:36 p.m.

False. Double false.

Instead, my work schedule hardly allows for meals that require much preparation, and lately I feel like I’m throwing things together and it’s contained a lot of processed foods. Pizza included. Don’t forget the pizza.

My friend/boot camp buddy/wedding planner/everything else person suggested I purchase a dual-purpose book: The Nicely Nourished Cookbook Calendar.

Put together by busy moms, it’s a dinner plan that offers weeknight menu planning, easy-to-follow recipes (Very true, as I NEED to follow recipes), removable weekly shopping lists and the ingredients used are in season and nutritional.

I purchased this year’s calendar last night for $30 at Foodsmith’s (in Perth), tore away this week’s grocery shopping list, and went shopping. I think the grocery list bit is the deal breaker for me, as I don’t have to create crafty meal ideas and lists – it’s already done for me. 

To start, I’m challenging myself to follow this meal plan solidly for a week, and see how I feel at the end of the week after eating good, wholesome meals.

Last night’s dinner was a White Bean Pasta dish with garlic bread: 

It was so nice to welcome fresh herbs and veggies back into my diet. Jamally agrees.

The only glitch is these meals do take preparation.  To solve this, my friend preps the veggies/meat the night before, because she already knows what’s on the menu the following night and can plan accordingly. She is S-M-R-T.

Tuesday’s Question: How do you get out of your dinner ruts?

Happy Cooking!

One Response to “Dinner Meal Ideas”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Wrap-Up | Cathy James - March 10, 2011

    […] The recipe calendar idea I outlined last week, and my challenge to follow the schedule for a week = success. It’s […]

Leave a Reply

