My New Last Name

3 Mar

Mr. & Mrs. Jamally. One Class Act.

Do you remember when you were young and got into trouble from your parents? What did they do? They called you by your full name, didn’t they?

At least that’s what happened to me.

Throw sand from the sandbox into the backyard pool? I got the full name reference: “Margaret Catherine McNally, you stop that right now!”

When Jamally and I got engaged, I decided to take his last name when we said our “I dos”. I love my maiden name, but I also like to concept of sharing the last name as a family unit. Call me traditional.

We’re approaching our six-month anniversary, and while I have been getting accustomed to my new name, there is someone who hasn’t: Jamally.

He keeps forgetting we now share the last name, and frequently refers to my maiden name. Though he’s slowly improving. Good on him.

But here’s the real kicker. When he is annoyed with me or we’re having a heated conversation (what?! argue?!), he refers to me as Cathy McNally. That’s when I know he is upset. That’s also when childhood memories of full-name usage come creeping back into my mind. Am I getting into trouble here?

So is he mad? Or has he simply forgotten? Or both? I’m told I over think things.

I’ve brought it up with him, as he didn’t even realized he was doing it, and it’s become an ongoing joke. Now whenever he uses my maiden name, he’ll pause to say, “No, I’m not mad at you, I just forgot”. Or because it’s an ongoing joke, he deliberately enunciates the name. Such a romantic. 

Perhaps when I get upset with him, I should refer to him as Jamally McNally. I figure it’s a fair compromise. After all, isn’t that what marriage is all about?

Question? Have you or will you take your partner’s last name? If so, was there a period of name adjustment for you both?

2 Responses to “My New Last Name”

  1. Amber March 3, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Well I just changed my name and to be honest it’s been pretty tough. Most people refer to me as ‘Cooper’ so my last name is who I was! So there has been a huge adjustment period. I, like you, decided to stay traditional and keep his name but I think I will always be known as Cooper by my oldest friends and I like that I still have that. I think the thing I hated most about changing my last name is all the paperwork that is involved – all I can say is, wow do we ever make sacrifices for our husbands!! lol

  2. Amy March 3, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    For once, I’m actually happy to be a Quebecer… therefore, no name change.

    That being said, I do like the idea of sharing a family name. Especially when there are offspring involved.

    When and if we move back to Ontario, I’ll likely bite the bullet and change my name, even though its kinda hard to be called Dooner when your last name is Bellamy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

