What a Day – Thoughts on 8-week anniversary

4 Mar

Eight weeks ago today, I started my own freelance writing business.

Starting up my own freelance writing business two months ago, I had visions/nightmares of twiddling my thumbs and having mid-afternoon soap opera marathons. Thankfully, that’s far from the truth.

Tonight, as my mom and I were driving around the Dairy Queen parking lot to see if it was still open (it wasn’t), I thought to myself, I can’t believe all the different things I did today. And it’s because of the work I do that allows me the variety.

My day’s synopsis? Well, since you asked…

7:30 a.m. Wander over for Timmy’s for a coffee as we’re all out at home
8:00 a.m. Ghost write a blog
8:30 a.m. Conference call, providing website content proposal to client
10:00 a.m. Three hours in court covering a murder trial
1:00 p.m. Off to Radio Station to write murder trial story (a publication ban)
2:30 p.m. Bring car in for E-test
2:32 p.m. At McDonald’s ordering lunch (judge away, I was starving and it was located across the road!)
3:00 p.m. Take dog to Conlon Farm for snowball throwing marathon

Tuxedo patiently waiting for the next snowball to be thrown

4:00 p.m. Attempt to take mid-afternoon siesta. Parents pop by for a visit (which is a great thing!)
5:30 p.m. Chat with my brother about his upcoming trip to Cuba en route to Pet Food Store
5:35 p.m. Back to Tim Horton’s
5:45 p.m. Over to my sister’s to babysit/practise parenting 🙂
8:00 p.m. Cover a Perth Performing Arts Committee Performance, Dr. Zoo, in order to submit a review for the Perth Courier. It was a Afro-Celtic band and I brought my mom as my guest.
10:15 p.m. Driving around DQ Parking Lot in search of Dairy Goodness

All in all? It was a jammed packed day, and I love the mix of both work and fun. I feel very grateful for the work I have received up to this point and I’ve learned so much in these past eight weeks.

11:20 p.m. Time for Bed. Night!

Leave a Reply

