It’s Lent Season!

8 Mar

Happy Pancake Shrove Tuesday!

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday which signifies the preparation for Easter.

To summarize, there are traditionally 40 days in Lent which are marked by fasting, both from foods and festivities, and by other acts of penance.

I was just talking with a friend this morning about our Lent commitment, and she gave up chocolate last year, and she’s trying to figure out what to give up for this year.

Growing up in a  Catholic household, Lent signified a time for us to give something up (besides meat on Fridays) to showcase our commitment. I continued this tradition through university (I definitely faltered on a few attempts!), and still do to this day. Jamally has joined me in this quest, one time giving up his beloved Pepsi.

I hadn’t thought too much about this year’s vice to give up. Running? Laundry? Dog Walking? So tempting…my New Year’s Resolution was to stop buying magazines – a major vice of mine. Surprisingly, I have held true to my resolution. But now I’m stuck on this one.

Question of the Day: Do you give up something for Lent each year? If so, what’s on this year’s agenda? What should I give up for Lent?

6 Responses to “It’s Lent Season!”

  1. Michelle Pye March 8, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Funny you should bring up lent….. I too was raised in a Catholic household and the other day over lunch my mother suggested that I “give up swearing for lent this year, since I have developed quite the trucker mouth”. I told her that since I can’t swear all day at work (because I am a teacher), I drop all of my F Bombs after work hours, so really if you spread them all out over the course of an entire day it really wouldn’t seem like I am swearing all that often 🙂

    I think I will be giving up gummy bears and fuzzy peaches this year, since I am addicted to both!

    As for you…. coffee, tea, wine????

  2. Rebecca March 8, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    Well you certainly can’t give up running!!

    How about giving up your New Year’s Resolution for 40 days?

    🙂

  3. Emily March 8, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I like Rebecca’s suggestion 🙂
    I was going to give up coffee, but decided not to be crazy :p
    That and I’ve already had a coffee today.
    I’m giving up fancy coffee (Starbucks, Second Cup etc.) instead.
    My wallet is happy already 🙂

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services March 8, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      I love both of your ideas: magazines and expensive coffee! Maybe it’s a good idea to give up purchashing coffee, but it’s Roll up the Rim season 🙂

  4. Liz March 8, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Pizza!

Leave a Reply

