Turning Back Home

15 Mar

Marathon training is in full force, and this weekend’s long run called for 23 kilometres. My friend, Charity, was up visiting for the weekend, so we headed out together on Saturday for the run. It went by so quickly running with someone, I loved it! We ended up covering the distance in under 2:30. That’s faster than my training schedule calls for, but I felt great and enjoyed the run.

Fast forward to Monday, and I decided to wake up early for beloved boot camp. That morning’s run called for hills. Ugh. My quads were shot and I made sure anyone within earshot knew how hard it was for me. Everyone loves a whiner.

 

Then (there is a point to this story) today was just gorgeous outside. It was sunny, bright and 5 degrees. What a treat for mid-March. Today, however, was supposed to be a rest day.

I then read a Jeff Galloway quote this afternoon that stated: “The more you frame the marathon as a stressful experience, the more negative messages you’ll receive.” I liked it so much, I even re-tweeted it. Heck, yes.

I decided to go with my gut feeling and lace up my runners for a beautiful 6-km run outside. Who cares if it was an off day, I thought to myself. Just enjoy those good runs. Two blocks later, I turned around.

My quads were still fatigued, and I just knew it wouldn’t be worth it. So, I turned around and headed back home. The “Went Running, Love Cat” post-it note to Jamally wasn’t necessary, as I got home before he returned from work. I know I’m a basketcase with my mental game, and training eases that anxiety. But I also know when it’s smart to turn back home. And so I did.

When I got home, I saw that today’s calendar recipe calendar called for Korean beef, rice noodles and homemade coleslaw. My only Korean food experience was my first day in NYC for my bachelorette.

  

 

NYC (from left): Emily, Brianne, Beth, Charity, Me and Sue

Our NYC hotel was located in little Korea, and so my sister wanted to hit up a nearby Korean Restaurant. Charity, who lived and worked in South Korea for a year, was also  game for the Korean cuisine. I kept an open mind, and went with the flow. Unfortunately, I hated my dish. But my opinion on Korean food was redeemed tonight, as it was one of my favourite calendar recipe meals thus far. Yum! Take that, NYC.

Korean Goodness

 

On another note: Charity’s boyfriend, Tim, has been thinking about signing up for the Ottawa Half Marathon. He told us this on the weekend, and we were the bearer of bad news that it’s already sold out. Can you imagine?! It sold out March 1 for a May 29 race. I felt bad for him, but then he won the Tim Horton’s Roll up the Rim to Win five times in a row.

2 Responses to “Turning Back Home”

  1. Darren March 15, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Cat,

    Keep an eye on the TriRudy classifieds–you can often find marathon bibs for sale there! – http://www.trirudy.com/region/OE/classified/index.cfm

  2. Emily McManus March 16, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    5 times in a row! Lucky charms Tim 🙂

Leave a Reply

