26 Kilometres, Not Miles

21 Mar

Yesterday’s long, slow training run called for 26 kilometres. Not miles. 26 miles is 42 kilometres, which is the full marathon distance.

I’ve been dealing with a cold/cough/lost voice for the past week. But I didn’t want to whiff on my long run. So following a tiny nap, I headed out.

I set out and completed a 10-km loop, returned home and my sister came out for 11 kilometres of the run, which was terrific. Then, we returned home again and I set out for my last 5k. I’ve been told to pick up the pace for the last few kilometres as that’s what you would do at the end of a real race. And I actually found it easier running at the faster pace than the long, slow pace. I struggle to go at the set pace outlined in my training program. But I know it’s important to stick to that pace, because as my boot camp instructor (who has completed dozens of marathons) said, the long runs are about getting the mileage on your legs, and it’s not about the time.

Running as Fast as a Turtle

Source

Question: Do you find it hard to stick to the long, slow training pace?

I returned home to have a nice visit with my sister-in-law while Jamally made us dinner. I can’t tell you enough how much I love the recipe calendar. Jamally is happy to cook more often, and we’re always having good meals.

In Other News:
-My friend, Michelle, completed her marathon in Rome!!! Sore hip and all. When I hear from her, I’ll give a full race report. I can’t wait to see photos.
-It’s snowing outside as I write this. No, thank you.
-I had a great visit with two girlfriends on Saturday. But I drank three glasses of red wine, which probably didn’t help with my long run the following day.
-I need a new pair of running shoes.
-In our six years together, I’ve never seen Jamally play hockey. But I now feel like I’m a legit Lanark County wife: I went and watched Jamally play in a hockey tournament in Lanark on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

