Mid-Morning Snacks

22 Mar

I had a great visit yesterday with my former co-workers and over pizza (Greek=yum) we chatted about what it’s like working from home and having the diligence not to eat everything from the kitchen cupboard, fridge, bowl on table containing delicious candy, etc.

The only way I won’t eat everything in the house is by not buying treats. If there’s a bag of Oreos in the house, they’ll be done in one day. It’s happened before. Ask Jamally. Being the official James household grocery shopper, I rarely come home with cookies or chips. Because I know my will power strength. It’s weak.

But that has left me with one little problem: when it comes to snacks, there’s nothing to eat in the house! My training runs leave me constantly hungry, and I’m always starving by 10 a.m. I have to continuously eat food throughout the day, and it’s a problem I’m totally ok with, but with few snack options (sic: treats) in the house, I usually end up cutting some cheese (hee hee) and crackers. Not the best option, I know.

I'm trying to be a good blogging photographer. I have a long way to go.

I found a great snack idea in the recent edition of Women’s Health Magazine. It’s a cottage cheese and pineapple wrap. You take a small tortilla, lay some cottage cheese along the center and sprinkle canned chopped pineapple on top. And Roll. I never usually eat cottage cheese or pineapple, but it’s packed with good nutrients and protein. It’s good, fast to make and keeps me full until lunch! I’m happy with my new find.

As I continue to find more snacks that don’t have the words “Double Chocolate” splashed across the packaging, I want to hear from you: What do you have for your mid-morning snack?

9 Responses to “Mid-Morning Snacks”

  1. Amber March 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I have sundried tomato rice cakes – they are actually quite tasty and completly satisfying for a snack!

  2. Rebecca March 22, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Rice cakes with hummus, sliced tomato and sliced avocado! Always remember to include a complex carb, healthy fat and protein with all of your snacks and meals AND choose things with low sodium (aka real food) so that your body doesn’t trick you into thinking you are hungry 🙂

  3. steph March 22, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Hahahaha. I am not your role model. Groom-boy does the shopping here. The end.

  4. Amy March 23, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    I kind of puked in my mouth when I read about that wrap.

    I have to purée cottage cheese before I eat it.

    Go for the green smoothie Catty, you can do it!

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services March 23, 2011 at 7:21 am #

      I’m not huge on cottage cheese either, but I can work with it. Ok ok – what’s the smoothie recipe again?

  5. Madeline March 23, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    low fat yogurt, granola, fruit (preferrably blueberries) and a small handful of almonds.

Leave a Reply

