Running Pet Peeves

24 Mar

The National Post published a great article yesterday titled, “Snot Rockets and Other Rules, On and Off the Track“. The story provides an overview of runners’ pet peeves. From fellow runners blowing out snot rockets to 5-km racers loading up their fuel belts, the writer interviews running experts who outline their pet peeves which fellow runners flaunt.

Sometimes you just gotta rocket

Source

When Jamally ran the 10-km race during Ottawa Race Weekend four years ago, he discovered his runners’ pet peeve. When runners don’t get into the correct corral. Better worded: When people line up at the front of the start line and they are either walkers or should be starting further back. For 6 kilometres of the race, Jamally spent time weaving in and around runners.

My running pet peeve is when you’re in a crowded race (ok, yes, I don’t particularly like big crowds!), but then a group of runners suddenly stop for their one-minute walk, and they’re stretched across the roadway – you know what I’m talking about! You want to get around them, but you can’t because they’re pre-occupied with reviewing their stopwatch, and having a sip of water. It makes me want to go Tonya Harding on them.

It’s great to run as a group. I agree that running 10 and 1s is a good training program. But please move off to the side, signal you’re stopping to the runners behind you and scooch over. Whew. I’m glad I got that off my chest. I feel better already!

What is your runners’ pet peeve? Or just your pet peeve in general? Come on, share, it will make you feel better!

7 Responses to “Running Pet Peeves”

  1. Amy March 24, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Confession: I’m horrible at snot rockets. They always end up running down my face. The other day, I resorted to blowing my nose in a dog-poo bag. True story.

  2. Molly March 24, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Cathy – people who wear their race t-shirt on Race Day! You haven’t earned it til you’ve run it!
    PS – I’m loving your running commentary !

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services March 29, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Molly, I totally hear you on the race-day shirts. Did they not bring any other running clothes with them to the race?!

  3. Madeline March 24, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I HATE when triathletes wear their running shirt backwards!! It drives me crazy. If they are going to take all that time to train for a triathlon, they should figure out which way to wear their athletic wear!

  4. Michelle March 27, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    ok, i don’t want to offend anyone who might wear one BUT, running skirts are my pet peeve. sorry, cant stand them. what would possess anyone to want to run 42.2 km or even 5km for that matter in a skirt!? i dont know about you, but i dont want to look cute when i am running, i want to look hard core! lol so save the skirt for the tennis court or golf course ladies!

    cathy, perhaps you next blog could look into the benefits of running skirts vs. shorts?

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services March 29, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      I’m still unsure about the skirts! My sister wore one for her half, and she loved it! I’ll blog post about it for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

