Jerry Seinfeld Claims My Dog is Boss

28 Mar

In a comedy routine years ago, Jerry Seinfeld once said if aliens were to watch down on Earth, they would assume dogs ruled the world. They lead us by leash and we pick up their poop.  According to Jerry Seinfeld, dogs are the master of our domain. I need to prove him wrong.

Don't be fooled by his looks!

Though sometimes, when out walking with Tux, I look up into the sky, and think I hear aliens laughing at me from above. Tux is so strong and knows he can bully me when on the leash. He’ll take turns between pulling me and then digging his claws into the ground to allow him to stop and, ahem, smell the roses. And let’s not forget about his complete distaste for small, white dogs, whom we often meet on the street. The only way I can control him is to put on the training collar.

I enjoy our daily afternoon walks out together, but lately, with Jamally working ridiculous hours, I’m on double walking duty. My patience has gotten the best of me on our walks, as I have to frequently stop him so he’ll stop pulling me, if only for a few moments. He doesn’t even look up at me to see why I’m making him stop – a sure sign of disrespect. Argh.

I get so jealous of those content dog owners whose dog does not pull or give them attitude during their time out together. I long for the walks where my shoulder isn’t sore.

So I’ve taken the no-fun parent role. He walks right beside me, and has little leeway on his leash. I’m happier and therefore, he’s happier. That’s how it works, doesn’t it? We still have a long way to go, but I’m determine to get his walking/respect under control.

When out with your pup, what’s your dog walking regime? Give me your insight and advice, and I’ll stop looking up into the sky for aliens.

4 Responses to “Jerry Seinfeld Claims My Dog is Boss”

  1. Amy March 29, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Have you tried a Gentle Leader? It wraps around their nose, so it gives them less power to pull. Worked wonders when Jersey was a pup.

    http://www.gentleleadercanada.com/

    My personal favorite moment was when we were out walking at the dog park and a little girl about 4, looked at Jersey and then said to her mother “Mommy that dog is so bad because she has a choker” haha.

  2. Mary-Kate March 30, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Cathy! I took my dog for a walk last night shortly after reading your blog…and she’s exactly the same. Thank goodness for Amy’s post! I’m going to check it out. It’s difficult when you’re looking forward to a nice stroll only to wind up frustrated, embarassed and slightly ticked at the pooch.

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services March 30, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      Isn’t it so frustrating?! And the worse thing is, I know I have only myself to blame, since I’m the ‘trainer’ between us. But still, does he really need to pull that much?!

Leave a Reply

