Spring Fever

30 Mar

After a disappointing night at home, we definitely made up for it last night. Jamally finally got to escape early from work yesterday and he walked through the front door at 4 p.m. Whoa!

After a good meal together, we decided to take the dog for a walk to a nearby park, where the river runs through it (I still haven’t seen that Brad Pitt movie). Anyway, Tux was so wired from the nice weather he bombed into the water – zero degrees outside, and he’s wading around in the Tay River. Needless to say, he came home and plunked down on his bed pretty quickly.

Today I’m up to bat for a hills workout, and while I like to get my run completed in the morning, I am going to wait because the weatherman is calling for some sunny skies and warm temps. I think I have more spring fever than the pooch!

What doesn’t have spring fever are my feet. A common running ailment is sore feet, and at this point, I would do anything for a foot massage. Jamally tries to tell me that years of playing hockey has left his hands somewhat arthritic, meaning he can’t give me massages. Isn’t that a great excuse? I have to give him credit for that one.

But my right foot’s second toe is completely bruised and I think the bone underneath is bruised, too. I actually took a photo to show you, but I’m embarrassed by the unmanicured toes. That, and my best friend will be quick to tease me about the size of my big toe!

Oh I’m feeling crazy. Here it is:

Gross, eh? And I think it’s going to get worse. Wouldn’t it be fun if I kept you updated on its status with photos. I promise I won’t. I usually put a bandaid over the toe for the runs, but I think I am going to have to figure something out soon. Especially before this weekend’s 29-km run. Eeek!

Happy Wednesday!

4 Responses to “Spring Fever”

  1. Hilary March 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Eeek! Brings back memories. Hope you manage to keep all of your toenails 🙂

  2. Hilary March 30, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Ooops, forgot to mention that Body Glide can help with your toes on long runs too

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services March 30, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, Hilary! I’ll have to find out what that even is – so much so learn!! 🙂 I remember your post-marathon toe photos, and actually think of them when I look down at my poor toe!

  3. steph March 30, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Of course you should be taking daily photos of that toe to show us its progress. All the cool bloggers do it. 😉

Leave a Reply

