Predictions and Perspectives

4 Apr

It’s a rainy morning and, uh oh, sounds like someone’s got a case of the Mondays!

That someone is me.

Actually, the weekend went really well, it’s just a sleepy kind of day! The weekend launched with the Prediction Run, and as predicted, I did not win. But it was a good time and the course included some trail running and two brutal hills!

My sister and I ran it together, and we needed some warm tea following the race:

Two other sisters ran the prediction run. They’re two busy moms and are really getting into running – they did so well! I struggle to schedule fitness into my day, and I don’t have kids. I have uber respect for busy moms who gets in their workouts. Good job, ladies!

Yesterday’s schedule called for 29km, and it’s the longest distance I’ve covered. I was pretty overwhelmed by it all weekend, but once I started up, I just went kilometre by kilometre. The first 20km were good, but those last 9 were hard!

Sometimes perspective can help, too. I’m overwhelmed by running a distance I decided to do on my own will. Meanwhile, our family has had a lot of illness within the recent days, weeks and months, and I should feel lucky to be able to do this run. When my quads were hurting and I was tired, I centered on that thought quite frequently throughout my run.

Monday’s Question: What pushes you to get through the hard part of your run?

6 Responses to “Predictions and Perspectives”

  1. Heidi April 4, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I always find the long runs hard but, push though with the promise of a rest day afterwards.

  2. Madeline April 4, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I push through hard runs by remembering those who unfortunately can not run due to illness.

  3. Rebecca April 4, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I have a suggestion that might help you out on your actual race day – have your loved ones write you little inspirations and pin them to your shirt. Label them with different km in the race and read them at each point. It’s amazing how much a message from someone special (when you are in the most pain you have ever felt) will push you to the finish line 🙂

Leave a Reply

