Tim Ferriss and the Four-hour Everything

5 Apr

First of all, I hope you like my new blog layout! I thought it was more refreshing and easier to read.

When I go for a run, listening to music throws me off my pace and my breathing. Jamally discovered that by listening to audio podcasts, you feel like you’re running with somebody and listening in on a conversation, ultimately making the run go by more quickly.

Jamally the Racer

 

He has sold me on the idea. Jamally is always finding good podcasts, but not ones I would typically dig. Fantasy Baseball podcasts, ESPN  reporters and the sort (I swear, he would have Bill Simmons’ child). He loves this one podcast, The Nerdist, and even the name makes me cringe. I imagine they speak of protractors and acute angles.

But last week Jamally told me about how they had a guest, Timothy Ferriss, on the podcast, who spoke about his lifestyle approach. Ferriss is the guy who came up with the “four-hour work week”. I downloaded the podcast for Sunday’s long run, and I was hooked.

Ferriss has since come up with the four-hour body, and he talked to The Nerdists about his approach to a healthy lifestyle. I thought he would have been this motivational-speaking, sales dweeb, but he wasn’t. He made such sense and his approach was relatable for anyone at any level of fitness.

Baby steps. Just like Bill Murray in What About Bob. Baby Steps.

I'm Sailing!

Ferriss says when starting out, don’t try to go full throttle at exercising. After three weeks at the gym on a daily basis, you’ll be tired, burnt out and frustrated, ultimately quitting. But if you go to the gym once a week for 10 minutes, it’s attainable and you’re more likely to meet that goal. By having the positive reinforcement, you’re more likely to continue with it.

Another point was instead of following a strict diet – such as Atkins – cut out three bad things from your diet. Making those small changes are more likely to stick than cutting all carbs entirely from your diet. His dad lost 30 lbs in one month but making one change: eating 30g of protein for breakfast.

He also talks about having a cheat day once a week. That way you don’t eliminate all bad things from your diet, and you have that day to look forward to. His podcast interview was a cheat day, and he said he had already had some chocolate croissants. Mmm….

With so many diet and exercise regimes out there, I found his approach refreshing. There was nothing ‘quick fix’ about it. He simply had a common sense approach to maintaining a healthy lifestyle. I liked it!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to go eat some chocolate croissants.

5 Responses to “Tim Ferriss and the Four-hour Everything”

  1. Darren April 5, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Cathy: I’ve got The 4-Hour Body if you want to borrow it. It’s an interesting read!

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services April 5, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Darren, I’d love to read it!

      • Darren April 5, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

        Well then we need to get it to you.. any suggestions?

      • Cat's Cove Writing Services April 6, 2011 at 9:45 am #

        Can you bring it to your work and I’ll pick it up? You guys are now on the Scotch Line right? I’m so excited for the read – thanks, Darren!

  2. Michelle Pye April 5, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I saw this guy on Dr. Oz a few months ago, he also recommended taking frequent ice baths! I liked him 🙂

Leave a Reply

