No More Cheese?!

6 Apr

Good morning, Wednesday Hill Day! That’s how I now breakdown my days. Today’s schedule called for hills, so I got my run over and done with before my early morning meeting. I never regret getting the early morning run done, it’s just a matter of rolling out of bed, isn’t it?

After returning from the meeting, this is what my mid-morning snack looked like:

To Jamally’s delight, I made some homemade banana chocolate chip muffins last night after dinner. Up until now, I haven’t ever really given supplements a second thought. Now I’ve got a shelf full of bottles in an effort to keep my diet on track. All I need is that day by day pill divider our grandparents used. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…

Since I starting increasing my running mileage, I (knock on serious wood) have only been dealing with minor leg and ankle soreness. The worst coincidence is my energy level. I’m so fatigued I’ve been having trouble concentrating and I constantly feel depleted in energy.

This is where Conor Collins steps in. He was one of our groomsmen and he’s been answering any questions I’ve had about my injuries and food intake. I’m going to blog soon about the exercises he’s given me. I really appreciate having such a qualified friend who offers such good insight.

I told him how I’ve been feeling and he asked me for a sample of my daily diet. It had a lot of carbs and little protein and fat. He told me to consume more protein to keep the energy levels up. So I replied, “Ok, so more eggs, beans and cheese.”

“No more cheese,” he said. Pardon?

He said though he knows women love cheese (that’s an understatement), it actually messes with your digestion and an after effect is it will make you feel sleepy. He said I can have cottage cheese, but 4%. His advice goes against everything I thought was best for my diet. Cheese = good. Fat = bad. Pizza = delicious.

But with so much mileage, and dropping weight as a result, he said I have to balance out my diet better. I’ve also worked in Vitamin D drops and Fish Oil Supplements to help with my recovery.

To incorporate more of these foods, I’m going to make an avocado salad for dinner tonight:

4-6 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp lime juice
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp cumin
salt and pepper to taste
1 avocado (peeled, pitted and cut into small pieces)
2 plum tomatoes, diced
1 tbsp red onion, finely diced
1/2 cup black beans, rinsed and drained

Mmmm!!!

(Recipe Courtesy of the Nicely Nourished Recipe Calendar)

Question: How do you balance your diet?

Learn more about Conor Collins!

2 Responses to “No More Cheese?!”

  1. Madeline April 6, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Although I think I eat fairly well, I don’t think my diet is “balanced”. I don’t know if I am consuming enough of certain foods. I think I need to find more balance in my diet. Thanks for the kick start Cathy. I’m going to research my own diet.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spending an Hour Together « On The Brink of 30 - April 7, 2011

    […] so we went out for a drink and food together. Remember how I said I was going to make that terrific avocado salad? Well, time constraints didn’t allow for that, so I did the next best thing: […]

Leave a Reply

