Spending an Hour Together

7 Apr

There’s nothing better than coming home after a long day of work to a whiny wife! Two nights ago Jamally got home, and as I stomped around the house, he thought it might be a good idea to ask me what was on my mind.

“I’m tired of your work,” I proclaimed. And then I crossed my arms.

The federal election has Jamally working stupid hours, so I haven’t seen much of him, and when he is home, he’s staring listlessly while sitting on the couch. Sometimes I blame Michael Ignatieff for calling the election. Just for fun.

Gettin’ Iggy With It

Source

 

When you think about it, Jamally can’t win. If he is at the office less, his work suffers. If he’s not at home, his home life suffers. But meanwhile, I’m bitter that I never get to see him, and am operating the ‘household’ on my own. Meals, cleaning, etc. 

We had a friend over for dinner last week, and we talked about how her friend is a housewife. The housewife regularly gets upset with her husband, stating he never appreciates the hard work she does to keep the house and children in order.

His response? “When did you thank me for going into work every day?” Umm…good point. For most of us, we all contribute to the household operation in our own way, and should be mindful of that.

Jamally arrived home last night just as I returned from an assignment, so we went out for a drink and food together. Remember how I said I was going to make that terrific avocado salad? Well, time constraints didn’t allow for that, so I did the next best thing: guacamole!

Getting my fats one tortilla chip at a time

It was a good way to spend an hour’s worth of quality time together, and for today, Iggy can feel better knowing I’m not blaming him for the election.

 Question: If life gets busy, how do you sneak in that quality time together?

  

 
One Response to “Spending an Hour Together”

  1. Madeline April 7, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    We get up early on Sunday morning and go for a walk and coffee. (Well,I have chocolate milk. Luc has the coffee) this is one of our favourite things to do together. It’s simple, inexpensive and real quality time. Personally, I think I love it so much because I know I don’t have to get up and go for a run! 🙂 It’s my complete “rest” day. I must say, our Stewart Park walk on a Sunday morning is one of the Perth things I’m really going to miss!!

Leave a Reply

