My Diary at 7 Years Old

12 Apr

Today marks the day my niece was born, seven years ago – crazy! A big Happy Birthday goes out to the old gal, and all I can say is though she may be 7, she is mature for her age and has the smarts to go with it.

A few weeks ago, while cleaning one of my Monica closets, I came across my childhood diary which I received on my 7th birthday. Reading through it brought lots of laughs on and also a lot of memories.

I love the Saved by the Bell style graphics

 

Here is my first entry:

Apparently our dog, Buster, gave us presents when we were kids. No wonder we liked him so much!

Reading through the diary made me realize that at any age, we all face our share of problems. Some problems are justifiably concerning, while others – which we realize later on in life – are smaller than we originally thought.

I confided to my diary about my brother’s teasing (“Walter made fun of me and Susan because we can’t get to sleep without the light on”), my boy situations (“P.S. I like Randy”), and my hopes for my future (“When I grow up, I’m going to go into the Olympics and compete in gymnastics. I just know I can do it. I’ve said prayers about it.”).

Then there are the health concerns for any seven-year-old child:

“Know what? I had the chicken pox. It hurts. and then Susan had them. And then Beth had them. And Dad has them. And Walter is looking for them. Ha Ha Ha!”

But then there is this diary entry, and I just don’t know what to think of it!

Someone call a doctor!

 

I’m so glad I still have this diary on hand, and I hope my niece keeps all her journals when she is older!

 

Question: Do you still have your childhood diary?

4 Responses to “My Diary at 7 Years Old”

  1. K Lewis April 12, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Oh wow, this made me laugh a lot. Hope that rash has healed up nicely!!

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services April 13, 2011 at 6:51 am #

      Apparently it has healed up, because I don’t remember said rash. Oh, boy! I’m just glad my diary was willing to listen to my problems!

  2. Jill April 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Hahahahaha! That’s awesome!

    Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

