The Foam Roller: My New Love Interest

14 Apr

44! That’s how many days are left until the Ottawa Marathon. It may sound like a time far, far away from now, but I know it will fly by, and there’s only one – well, two – things I’m most worried about at this point.

1.Getting my training in; and
2. Not getting injured.

During every run, I feel something new creep up. My right ankle, both my quads, my left hamstring. I feel like a walking, err, running, injury ticking time bomb, and I’m just not sure when it’s going to go off.

I’ve been doing everything I can to ensure I don’t get injured.

Enter the Foam Roller.

Rollin' With My Hammies

It’s my new love/hate interest. Runners use this round contraption to roll overtop of any areas that hurt, and it helps break up the junk that’s formed in your body. I’m sure there’s a more scientific explanation for it, but I don’t care. I just love it.

The first time I used it, I nearly cried it hurt so much. But a good hurt, if there is such a thing. Jamally asked if I wanted to be left alone with it. Don’t listen to him, Foam Roller. He’s just jealous.

I also went to my chiropractor today, and she did Active Release Techniques on me. If you have never had ART done before, you’re talking to the converted. It’s like having a foam roller work on you and tell you what’s actually wrong with you. She did amazing things at today’s appointment, especially alleviating my sore ankle. ART is also another love interest of mine.

Side Note: Tonight’s Foam Roller Photo Shoot was the first time I’ve asked Jamally to take photos for the blog. He enjoyed tormenting me.

What Now?

Another Side Note: This White Lululemon Hoodie is part of my nightly uniform.

Super Side Note: Don’t be fooled thinking the rose in the background is a Jamally love gesture. It was a gift from the marriage prep peeps.

Question: What is your running injury-proof secret?

Side Question:What is your nightly uniform? Come on, we all have one!

3 Responses to “The Foam Roller: My New Love Interest”

  1. Amy April 14, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    ART hurts so good eh? Love love love it!

    Nightly uniform: These ridiculous pink capris from Old Navy that used to be red and are 6 sizes too big, and a Rattle-me-bones long sleeved race shirt circa 2004.

    Andrew is a lucky man, isn’t he? Nothing says hot like my nightly uniform!

  2. Madeline April 14, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    how do I avoid running injuries? I don’t run marathons! 🙂

    My night uniform? p.j bottoms and my grey 1990 sweatshirt. If only I could find a job that I could wear my night uniform as a day uniform!!

Leave a Reply

