The Hardest Run of my Life

18 Apr

This weekend was spent with one special man in my life: my 20-month-0ld nephew. With his parents taking a well deserved trip, they trusted me to take him for an inclusive three-day, two night stay.

I knew I would either walk away with an extended family starting timeline or that my ovaries would be churning. In the end, I left with the satisfaction that I got to spend some one on one time with him and that I didn’t burn the house down! And maybe a bit of the ovaries churning factor came into play as well. 🙂

I learned a couple of things this weekend, too. Chasing after a two-year-old means you can’t really get anything else done, and you don’t really ever have a chance to eat a lot.

I didn’t realize the eating component until I was out on my run yesterday afternoon. I had increased my long, painful slow run up to 32 km this weekend. It was brutally windy outside yesterday, and was a victim to all four seasons in just one run.

First rain. Then hail. Then snow. Then sunshine.

It was the hardest run of my life. Not only did I face the harsh winds, I had to deal with the weather forecast and the fact I didn’t eat enough for my long run. It was ridiculous, and there were points in the run that I was giving it my all, and hardly moving.

So what did I do? I laughed.

After the first few km, I reacted with frustration, but knew that attitude wouldn’t get me far. So my mantra was “this is your test, this is your test. You can get a beer after this run. This is your test.”

I finished with an ugly hobble and had an ice bath with tea in hand. I followed it up with a beer and a spaghetti dinner at my parents’ place. What a great reward for such a hard run.

This morning I woke up with not only aches and pains, but a sore throat, too. I’m sure the changing weather didn’t help my immune system at all.

So here I am, drinking my PC Pomegranate Green Tea, with the high hopes this sore throat will disappear!

The best part about the end of my runs is that Jamally asks me each and every time, “How was your run?”. Whether or not he wants to listen, he is so good to ask me, allowing me to vent or brag about the most recent run. Now if only I could convince him to massage my sore feet!

Side Note: The house across the street from us is going up for auction tonight at 6 p.m. It’s been in the works for three weeks, and I’ve watched people from my office window (I can see them from the desk, I’m not crazy!), come visit and tour the house. I have been so excited to see how many people come to tonight’s auction. This morning I forgot I was covering an assignment and will miss the big event. I guess we’ll have to wait and see who moves in!

3 Responses to “The Hardest Run of my Life”

  1. Madeline April 18, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I thought of you yesterday when the snow, rain started. I knew you had 32k to run so i was feeling for you!! What a horrible day to have to run such a long run. This run however is probably the best thing that could have happened to you. When you are running your marathon and it is a beautiful day, (with no rain, hail or snow) you will have yesterday’s run to put things in perspective!!! Good job, Cathy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Running Mantra « On The Brink of 30 - April 19, 2011

    […] the win, I was trying to imagine what was running through their own minds. As I wrote about the mantra I used on my long run Sunday, I wondered what mantra these runners use for the biggest race of their […]

  2. Hoarding and Easter Miracles « On The Brink of 30 - April 24, 2011

    […] I went ‘down’ to a 23 km long run this weekend, and it was sooo much better than last weekend’s run. -We watched the movie, Extract, last night starring Jason Bateman and Kristen Wiig. She is my […]

Leave a Reply

