Your Running Mantra

19 Apr

Did anyone get to watch yesterday’s Boston Marathon? I caught the last five minutes of the men’s finish. It looked like they were working so hard, and the numbers prove it, as they both quashed a course record.

2:03:02: Mantra Magic!

While watching the top two runners fight it out in the last mile for the win, I was trying to imagine what was running through their own minds. As I wrote about the mantra I used on my long run Sunday, I wondered what mantra these runners use for the biggest race of their lives.

Runner’s World magazine published an article in the winter about using mantras to help you get through the tough parts of a race (are there easy parts?).

They suggested using the following scheme:

Take one word from each section and make it into a mantra:

A
Run
Go
Stride
Sprint
Be

B
Strong
Fast
Quick
Light
Fierce

C
Think
Feel
Embrace
Be
Hold

D
Power
Speed
Brave
Bold
Courage

I used this article and made the mantra, “Run Strong, Be Bold,” as I’m known to blow my mental game up during a run.

But the article had one elite runner share her mantra: lighter, softer, faster, relaxer. I ended up using this mantra during the Winterman Half, which helped me to relax and shape up my poor form. It also helped take my mind off the pain and focus on the words.

Going beyond running, mantras work well for any difficult situation. When an elementary school friend moved away in Grade 5, I didn’t want to cry when saying goodbye. Instead I looked up on the classroom wall and spotted a picture of a cow, and spit out, “Pretty Cow”. Now, when my one (I do have one!) friend and I don’t want to cry, we respond with the phrase, ‘Pretty Cow’. It’s our crying mantra, and brings laughter to some tough situations.

Question: What is your Mantra?

Leave a Reply

