Tricking the Man of the House

26 Apr

Wendy’s Nachos. Pizza Hut Stuffed Crust Pizza. A&W Onion Rings.

There are so many food options that I’m a sucker for, and it finally caught up with me in grad school. I had gained 15 lb., and my gramma told me so. It wasn’t a lot of weight, but I realized my metabolism had changed and late-night wings weren’t going to help.

It’s been a slow progress, trying to eat healthy. But ever since marathon training, I’ve really stepped it up. I’ve learned a lot about what my body needs rather than simply knowing the difference between healthy foods and deep-fried iced cream.

I’ve been experimenting with certain recipes and to make Jamally buy into them, I trick him.

Spinach in smoothies? Tricked.
Black Beans in Brownies? Tricked. (Thanks for the recipe, Amy)

The weirdest part? I get absolutely excited when he eats it, and he’s none the wiser. Then he looks over, and I have the creepiest smile going on. Just call me Samberg.

Do the Creep, ya!

Jamally then knows I’m up to something, and I excitedly confess. Last night’s experiment was the black bean brownie. He was so jolly, eating away. Then, when I told him, he said he knew something was up, and he most likely won’t eat them now. I swear, he has some kind of bad history with black beans in a past life.

The trickery is slowly backfiring on me. He now questions everything I make him.

“There isn’t spinach in this popcorn, is there?!”

He’s open to my recipe experiments, but I think the book is now closed on sneaking healthy foods into delicious treats.

In Other News:

It’s my BFF’s birthday today. Happy Birthday, Braun! Moo!

Question: How do you bring healthy foods into your treats?

2 Responses to “Tricking the Man of the House”

  1. Michelle Pye April 26, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    hahahaha! too funny i made the black bean brownies this weekend and tricked my dad into eating them. I have many more recipes where that came from! 😉

  2. Amy April 26, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    If you realllllllllly want to fool him try this one:

    http://www.dairyfreebetty.com/2011/04/avocado-pudding.html

    It’s got healthy fats!

    My apologies in advance Toby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

