Covering the Election

3 May

 

If you asked me three years ago to cover a federal election, I would done so, but without much enthusiasm or energy. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m older of because I’m freelancing, but covering last night’s election in the Lanark-Frontenac-Lennox and Addington riding was a total thrill.

First off, I joined the seniors in my town yesterday and walked to my polling station at 10 a.m. For some reason, the process to vote is exciting to me.

It wasn’t until 9 p.m. when I had to leave to go check out the independent candidate’s post-election party. Following a 40-minute interview with him, I headed to incumbent Scott Reid’s party, and did a live hit for the local radio station. I then headed back home but not before stopping in at a local pub to do another live hit where Liberal supporters were gathered (to mourn?).

I didn’t get home until midnight, and had a blast, especially since the results were so astonishing. I also came home to a happy Jamally. His long work hours are over, and he came home to a nice surprise.

Homemade peanut butter cookies. Bite-size brownies. And gin.

And the best wife of the year award goes to….

QUESTION: Were you surprised by the Canadian election results?

2 Responses to “Covering the Election”

  1. madeline bouvier May 3, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    I’m most surprised that you had time to make cookies! Busy days for you.

Leave a Reply

