Ring that Bell!

5 May

Bells have had a lot of meaning for me over the past year, and signifies new beginnings.

For our wedding invitation, Jamally and I thought we were hilarious and printed the following response options on our RSVP cards:

___ I’ll be there with bells on!

___ I won’t be there. Heard there will be bells.

____ I won’t be there, regardless of the bell controversy.

Then, at our wedding, we tied the dinner napkins with ribbon and a bell:

My sister then had everyone ring the bells to make us kiss.

Yesterday, ringing a bell had a whole new meaning for my family. At the Queensway-Carleton Hospital in Ottawa, there sits a bell. And every patient wants to ring it. That’s because when someone rings the bell, it signifies their last chemotherapy treatment.

A very special man in my life got to ring that bell yesterday:

Our family got together last night to celebrate my dad’s last chemotherapy treatment. He told us about ringing the bell, and how a patient, in her early 30’s, started bawling when he did so, and approached him with a big hug. As always, with a hint of humour, he says, “I had no idea who she was, but she was very nice.”

My dad has always been one of my biggest supporters, and though it’s been a long year, we are very proud of him as he closes this chapter of his life.

Ring that bell!

8 Responses to “Ring that Bell!”

  1. Amy May 5, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Confession: This post made me a little weepy.

  2. Rebecca May 5, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    BEST post so far Cathy 🙂 Congrats to your Dad and your family! xo

  3. Sarah Bridson May 5, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    What a great post, Cathy. I have been following along and this is my favourite post yet! Give your wonderful Dad a big hug from the Bridson family. xo

  4. steph May 6, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Yay!

  5. Leanne May 7, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    I’m so happy for your Dad and your family – hugs to you all. (And enjoy your romantical weekend away!)

  6. Amber May 9, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I had no idea. But I am happy to hear that that chapter is over.

Leave a Reply

