A Grandma Dinner Topic: GI Issues

10 May

Growing up, our family would have Sunday night dinners at my parents’ house, and still do to this day.

It’s a great way to catch up with the family, and over the years, our Grandma was part of those dinners and she brought a great – and sometimes different – element to the table: she would bring up topics of interest that wouldn’t be suitable for the dinner table. From getting sick to spotting animals along the roadside, she had impeccable timing, bringing them up just as we were about to bite into a hamburger.

Love Her.

This is my warning: this is a ‘Grandma Dinner Topic’ for today’s blog 🙂

I went out Saturday morning to complete my last long run for the Ottawa Race Weekend Marathon – 32 kilometres. I was feeling a bit nervous about taking on the distance, but knew once it was done, it would increase my confidence for the big day.

Legs? Good. Hips? All right. Mental state? Not bad.

GI? Terrible.

All throughout the run, my stomach would not settle, and without going into too much detail, it was not an easy run. Looking back, I tried to narrow down what it could be that caused this to happen. Was it my spinach smoothies? The chick peas I ate with our pasta dinner the night before (Jamally’s blaming it on the chick peas). Was it that my shorts were irritating? Seriously…

Four stops later, I finally hammered out the 32-km run. And it wasn’t pretty.

So here’s my question:

How do you avoid potential GI Issues, and what’s the cause?

5 Responses to “A Grandma Dinner Topic: GI Issues”

  1. Madeline May 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I have to agree with Toby. Chick peas!!! How to avoid this problem……sorry, I really don’t know.

  2. Amy May 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    What are you using for fuel? I always found that gels were killer on my stomach… resulting in a trip or 7 to the bushes.

    Sport beans are the only thing that work for me.

  3. Amy May 10, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Oh.. and sometimes I take immodium as a preventative measure. Works like a charm.

    Is it healthy? Likely not so much.

Leave a Reply

