A Surprise Mid-week Date and Food Redemption

18 May

Happy Hump Day, readers! As I write this posting, I’m hesitantly gulping down a green, protein-rich smoothie. It’s full of goodness, and I’m full of skepticism.

Spinach, Banana, a few blueberries, Vanilla Greek Yogurt, Water and Biggest Loser Vanilla Protein Powder (Conor, I know I need flax seeds!).

Advertising Works on Me

 

For the past week, I have been starving  and I know it’s because I’m not consuming the correct foods. So after an awful day of eating yesterday, I’m trying to redeem myself, while still filling up.

Sidenote: whenever I start snapping photos, Tux arises from his sleeping quarters to see what I’m up to:

Curious as a Kitten

 

Last night, Jamally and I decided to go to the movies. I have a ridiculous girl crush on SNL’s Kristen Wiig, so we headed to the theatres to see the movie, Bridesmaids. Verdict? Hilarious. Jamally and I agreed they set the way for female comedian movies. Think The Hangover and Old School mixed together. We loved it!

I had to sneak in a 6km tempo run yesterday before we headed to the movies, so we missed the opportunity to have any dinner. Instead we noshed on popcorn and pop while watching the movie. Following the movie at 10 p.m., we headed to Moxie’s for a late dinner, which included wine, sweet potato fries and avocado spring rolls (it has healthy fats, right?!).

It was such a nice surprise mid-week date as Jamally and I hardly go on dates on weekends, let alone during the week.

But then comes the good news and the bad news. Bad news is I woke up feeling awful from the poor food choices I made yesterday. The good news is this obviously means I’m eating quite well if my body now reacts to bad food.

From an emotional point of view, I never regret eating bad foods, I know it’s all about balance. But I do have regrets when it makes me feel like a bag of smashed marbles the following day.

This brings me to today’s redemption smoothie. I’ve got my fruit, protein and whatever good stuff spinach gives to me.

Today’s Question: What is your go-to ‘good’ food to make up for a bad day of eating?

One Response to “A Surprise Mid-week Date and Food Redemption”

  1. madeline bouvier May 18, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    My protein shake!! For sure! and lots of vegetables.

Leave a Reply

