Marathons and Pregnancy = the same thing?

20 May

For the past two days, Jamally’s been asking me what’s on my mind, as I’ve been a little off (more so than usual). I was trying to pin down the reason for my ‘offness’, and came to a pretty simple conclusion.

Everything hurts. My hips, my quads, my IT bands, my knees, my feet, my head.

I’m also tired. I haven’t been sleeping well for the past week, as my hips are so sore, it’s uncomfortable to sleep on my back or on either side.

So. Very. Tired.

 

I’m so glad to be entering the tapering phase of my marathon training schedule, as I am feeling pretty burnt out with my running. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve enjoyed the process, but I’m just ready for it to come.

Based on how I’m feeling, I’ve developed a theory. This process MUST be preparing me for pregnancy. Just hear me out:

  • For months, I’ve been preparing for the big day.
  • I’m constantly tired and craving bad food.
  • A few weeks prior to the due date, I haven’t slept because every sleeping position is uncomfortable.
  • I’m at the point where I don’t care how hard the race is, I just want it to come.

Going even further, the race day could also mirror child-birth. It’s going to be hell getting through the process, but once it’s done, you walk away with the most amazing accomplishment.

How many moms are going to kill me with this post? “You think child-birth is like running a race?! Are you kidding me?!” I know, it’s probably not a comparable pain, but I can’t believe, after going through this process, how similar the symptoms are to pregnancy.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to eat a peanut butter pickle sandwich.

Today’s Question: Am I totally off with my theory?

2 Responses to “Marathons and Pregnancy = the same thing?”

  1. madeline bouvier May 20, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    i’m with ya! very similiar in many ways. one other thing to add ……
    During the race you may think, “I’m never doing this again!” During child birth I had similiar thoughts.

  2. Michelle Pye May 20, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    hahaha love this blog!!! so funny you should compare the two because the very first thing I said to my mother after I finished my marathon was “child birth is going to be a piece of cake compared to what I just went through” lol I am sure those women (like my mother)who have had natural childbirths would not agree…. but I will say it was the most painful experience and most physically and mentally exhausting experience of my life so far!

Leave a Reply

