Jamally’s Birthday Recap

24 May

Jamally turned the Big 3-0 yesterday, and I don’t want to jinx myself, but I think our family has finally forced convinced him into enjoying his birthday celebrations.

Since we first started dating six years ago, we’ve struggled with one another’s expectations when it comes to celebrating birthdays. Our family is big on birthday celebrations (my dad starts his birthday countdown sometime in April. His birthday is January 7). Meanwhile, Toby has never been big on birthday celebrations, and doesn’t enjoy having any attention on him for any period of time.

But this year, it’s fair to say his birthday was a three-day-long celebration!

Rather than surprise him with a party, I instead contacted his friends and set up a golf date. They hit the links on Saturday morning and spent the day together, which is all Jamally wants.

Then on Sunday our family got together to celebrate his birthday with a bbq dinner. My niece and nephew even rehearsed a song and performed it in his honour. I don’t think any birthday gift could top that one.

But wait!

On his actual birthday, he and I went out for a birthday breakfast.  I slide his birthday card across the table to him. I came across this card a year ago, and told Jamally about it. Since then, we’ve been telling Tux he is a ‘great dog’:

The inside top cover read as follows:

I know, I have terrible penmanship

 

Needless to say, he was thrilled. For years he has talked about getting a membership, but will never spend the money on himself. While the saying always goes, “Happy wife, happy life”, I believe there should also be a saying, “Happy husband, happy house”. Or…something along those lines. When Jamally gets out of the house and plays a round of golf, he’s beaming for days. Easy decision on my part.

Later, we then sauntered over to my sister’s house, as her family bought Thai food for dinner and invited us over for a Jamally dinner celebration. When we got home, he said he had a great birthday weekend, and thanked me for it. Sometimes it’s the small gestures that leads to big gratifications in life.

2 Responses to “Jamally’s Birthday Recap”

  1. Jill May 24, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    You guys are so sweet. 🙂

    I’m glad the birthday festivities went over well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Weekend of Nothing « On The Brink of 30 - July 11, 2011

    […] you asked Jamally what he did this weekend, he would have one answer for you: golfing. That birthday present is sloooowly backfiring on me. I got him a golf membership for his birthday […]

Leave a Reply

