Marathon Sunday: Out of My Control

27 May

 

Ker-plow!

Thunderstorms! High Winds! Rain! “Feels like 31”! Yipee!!

That’s what Sunday’s weather forecast is calling for (minus the ‘yipee’ and exclamation marks) – perfect running weather, ain’t it?

Top it off with suddenly facing an inflamed left knee this past week, an injury I haven’t dealt with in my training’s entirety.

BREATHE…………..(while holding a brown paper bag)

I figure there are two ways at approaching this.

Freak out, stress and worry about said weather and knee for the next few days leading up the race.

OR

Freak out, stress and worry about said weather and knee when -and if – it happens. Or just don’t freak out at all.

Psychologically, what do you think is better for me? To keep myself sane for these next two days leading up the marathon, I know it’s all in my head. The more I mess around with my head, the more I’m likely to crumble come race day. So, let’s leave the worrying when it happens, shall we?

I can’t believe the big day is this weekend! I’m anxious, nervous and exited. Each emotion takes turns, but overall, I’m just ready for it to come.

Thank you, readers, for your constant words of advice and support. It’s been fun chronicling my training and has kept me accountable through this journey.

Now the only thing left to do is line up at the start line. Yipee!

8 Responses to “Marathon Sunday: Out of My Control”

  1. Lee-Anne May 27, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Good Luck Cathy! I know you will do Great! I have enjoyed reading your blogs! I look forward to hearing the end reasults!!! I will be thinking of you :)xo

    • Lee-Anne May 27, 2011 at 10:33 am #

      Oops…I mean results!

  2. Leanne May 27, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Cathy – I enjoy reading your blogs. Your journey of training over the past few months, your committment and dedication have been soooo inspiring! You have done the work to complete this – stay calm and strong – chant your mantras and you’ll get there!

    I’ll be thinking of you – YOU ROCK!!

    • Leanne May 27, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      P.S. I’ll give you all the Reflexology you want when you’re done 🙂

  3. steph May 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Good luck, Cathy!! Can’t wait to hear/read about it!

  4. steph May 27, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    PS – stooooooooooooopid weather.

  5. Charity May 28, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Cathy- You will be great! You are prepared both mentally and physically, just don’t let one or the other get you down! Think positive thoughts and you will be fine. The weather will be the weather but everyone else will be facing the same weather so don’t let that affect you! You are all doing this with the same circumstances- mindset will distinguish you from the rest!

    Rock it and have fun! Make sure you enjoy it! Stop and look around, praise yourself for your accomplishments!

  6. Jill May 28, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Thinking about you tonight as you head into race day! I know you’ll do so, so well and can’t wait to read your thoughts afterwards!

    Try to keep calm, if you can. Visualize yourself finishing the race successfully and happily.

    Weather be damed, I say. You have trained really well, you will be wearing comfortable clothing. Basically, you’ve done everything you can, so try not to worry about the rest.

    Above all, have lots of fun! Soak in the experience and enjoy!!!

    Mind over matter!

Leave a Reply

