Cost of a Marathon

8 Jun

Now that I’m officially off my marathon ‘high’, I got to thinking about the actual cost of a marathon. When I signed up for the Ottawa Marathon, I never really expected the costs to exceed the registration price.

Boy, was I wrong.

To give you a sense of how much a marathon costs, I thought I would outline what I spent during my training and race-day weekend.

Big breath.

Here goes:

  • Registration: $100
  • One pair of Running Shoes: $130
  • Three Pairs of Socks: $30
  • New Pair of Shorts: $55
  • Gels: $40
  • Foam Roller: $30
  • Six Active Release Treatments: $330
  • One Acupuncture Treatment: $55
  • Hotel to stay the night before the race: $140
  • Dinner out the night before the race: $50
  • Lunch + beer following the race: $60
  • Post-Active Release Treatment: $55

GRAND TOTAL: $1,075.00

I could do the Mastercard line – Accomplishing the dream of a lifetime:

 
 
Priceless?

Training for, and running in, a marathon does bring a bit of a financial hangover. Of course I would do it all over again, but I never expected the marathon to tally up to this cost. The thing that killed me most was the chiropractor treatments, but these treatments got me through any injuries.

 
I told Jamally last night I was going to put together the numbers for the blog. Furrowing his eyebrows, he replied, “You didn’t spend that much”. When I went over the numbers, his jaw actually dropped. Then he had a beer.
 
Now that you see the numbers on paper, here’s my question for you:

Is the Marathon a financially good decision?

2 Responses to “Cost of a Marathon”

  1. Madeline June 8, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Absolutely!!!! Money well spent!!

  2. Anne G. June 8, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Love this blog! I always laugh when people tell me that “running is cheap”. Yeah right! Especially in this part of the world! We need a whole set of gear for winter and a whole different one for summer! Since I started training at the end of January, I had to invest lots of money in gear for different weather, etc.

    I think it’s definitely worth it, as Madeline said. It’s an amazing experience and in my opinion, worth every penny. That being said, I won’t be doing more than one a year because it’s quite expensive…

    I can think of worse ways to spend my money!!

Leave a Reply

