Back to Boot Camp

14 Jun

After running by myself for nearly three months, I’ve returned to the exercise social scene – boot camp. For the past 2.5 years, boot camp has been my regular exercise regime, and it’s given me speed, toned arms for my wedding and a social network. Three words best describe my feelings for boot camp: I love it. with all my heart (ok, that may have been seven words).

curls + arm dips

So when I pulled into the gym parking lot Monday morning for the 6 a.m. boot camp class, I was excited. Especially since I haven’t completed any form of exercise since the marathon two weeks ago (unless, of course, you count my shopping adventure, neurotic dock spider scanning skills, and a 30-minute run on Saturday).

They say following a marathon, you need to give yourself a day of rest for each mile completed, which translates to nearly four weeks of little to no exercise. That being said, I think I put on my running shoes too soon.

Ouch, ouch, ouch.

We did a track workout on Monday, where we did five one-minute sprint repeats. Surprisingly, I had my speed. My legs and lungs felt really good and rested. But my right foot did not. It was fine to run on it, but as soon as I stopped, the nerve being pinched was screaming at me.

When we returned to the gym, we did one-minute circuits, and let’s just say those toned arms I once had are currently at their weakest stage. With hardly any weight training for the past two months, I felt it. I also noticed how weak my core was when completing the track sprints. Today I  understood the importance of cross-training while also training for a race. It hurt today.

Whine, whine, whine.

So today I sit at my desk, with a golf ball rolling under my right foot and ice on my left knee. This lower body isn’t ready to return back to boot camp. I’m trying to be patient, but after sticking to a regimented routine for so long, I am jonesing to return to that lifestyle.

I’m doing my best to pretend to smile and not act frustrated around the household. Apparently a certain someone doesn’t have sympathy for their wife who returned to the gym too quickly. How do I know that? He told me.

Where’s the wine at?!

Today’s Question: What are you like when you can’t exercise?

*

6 Responses to “Back to Boot Camp”

  1. Amy June 14, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I just need to say you’re my hero for doing AM workouts.

  2. Friends of Murphys Point June 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Nothing wrong with a little w(h)ine.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Workout and Oatmeal Pancake « On The Brink of 30 - July 14, 2011

    […] first I was nervous to work out on my own, as I’ve depended on my beloved boot camp to get my heart rate up. But with a tweaked knee, it’s gym time only for […]

Leave a Reply

