Car Rides With Husbands

15 Jun

Jamally and I are excited to head on a trip this afternoon to do some major visiting southwest of Perth.

But what does that mean? Driving in a car together. A lot.

Any time we do argue, nag, point and sigh in one another’s direction usually occurs when we’re on the road together.

Travelling Companions We Are Not.

I like lists. Let’s make lists of our driving pet peeves of one another, shall we?

Cathy’s Pet Peeves of Jamally’s Car Behaviour
-When on a four-lane highway, he always stays in the far left lane, so long as no cars are behind him.
-When lost, he loves to “see where this road takes us”.
-When in the passenger seat, he almost always nods off as soon as the car goes in gear.

Jamally’s Pet Peeves of Cathy’s Car Behaviour
-When in the passenger’s seat, she is always pointing to where Jamally needs to turn, exit, stop, etc. Even though he already knows where to turn, exit, stop, etc.
-When in the driver’s seat, she is constantly asking for navigation points, and gets upset with the passenger if she doesn’t understand their instructions or gets nervous in traffic.

Our friends can attest to this. Three weeks following our own wedding, we headed to a friend’s out-of-town wedding and got completely lost. While trying to call our friends to clarify directions, Jamally and I were not on good driving terms. By the time we arrived at the wedding destination, our friends nervously passed us each a drink as the steam continued to escape our ears.

If we don’t argue in during a trip, when we do reach our destination, we make a note of our successful venture together.

Let’s hope for another successful trip this weekend!

Today’s Question: What are your pet peeves about your partner’s car behaviour? More importantly, what are theirs of yours?

4 Responses to “Car Rides With Husbands”

  1. Jill June 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Awesome and timely post!

    I was driving with the husband yesterday and we got into a driving tiff.

    I can’t handle it when he is going too slow for the third or fourth gear (in a standard). It physically hurts me not to say something.

    I know my back-seat driving really, really bothers him (and I can’t blame him).

    I usually drive, just to keep us both sane. It’s not that I’m a better driver, but he’s a MUCH better back-seat driver than I am.

    Also, I have to say that it freaks me out when he doesn’t know where we’re going, even with the GPS, when I’m driving. I expect him to know where we’re going, which is not really fair, but it boils my blood when he doesn’t. We usually argue during those (tense) moments.

    The picture you posted is hilarious, by the way!

  2. Madeline June 15, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    My husband’s complaint about me is that I, (like Jamally) fall asleep as soon as we hit the highway. The motion of the car is like a sedative to me. In my defense, the reason I fall asleep when we hit the road is because it’s my down time after doing all the thinking to get the trip off the ground.
    My pet peeve is when he sits behind a transport. I hate being behind a vehicle which I can’t see past. Drives me crazy!
    I can’t complain too much however, as he does ALL the driving. I very rarely have to drive.

    Hope you have/had a good road trip.
    Enjoy your vacation!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Laughs « On The Brink of 30 - July 29, 2011

    […] Friday of the long weekend and you know what that means?! Road trippin’ with Jamally this […]

Leave a Reply

