I am Broken

21 Jun

Remember when you were in university or college and just before the Christmas or summer break you were in a constant state of stress, and as soon as your exams were over, your body went into shutdown mode and you got sick?

That’s me right now, post-marathon. To be dramatic, I am broken.

It’s been just over three weeks since the marathon and I feel as though my body is getting worse and worse. And worser. I woke up last Wednesday with a pulled shoulder, leaving me unable to move my neck and walk around as though rigor mortis was setting in.

Thankfully, I got into my chiropractor that day, as Jamally and I were leaving that afternoon for Toronto. My back rib was lodged and she had to crack it back into place. Have you ever had that done? Don’t try it at home.

A day later we were visiting our friends, Conor Collins and Rebecca Bakker. Conor is an RMT and specializes in ART, too. God love him. He said the left shoulder is linked to the right hip, which makes sense, as my right hip has been troubling me since my training days (doesn’t that make me sound like Al Bundy? Four touchdowns in one game!).

Conor did ART on me, and I described it as, “it’s like you’re stabbing me with a knife”. In a good kind of way, of course.

It was a good kind of hurt, though I did need to keep myself hydrated through it all:

Wine for the Whine

He then wanted to encourage relief to my shoulder and gave me some acupuncture:

 

 

The next day I woke up feeling so much better, that’s for sure.

Still, one week later, I remain stiff and my body continues to recover from the race. The hardest part is not getting in good exercise and feeling sluggish as a result. But I have to listen to my sore body and just let it recover.

Today’s Question: Have your injuries left you on the couch?

2 Responses to “I am Broken”

  1. Rebecca Bakker June 21, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Yes and I know the feeling! It’s not fun when you are so used to being active. You’re “modified” workout plan is on our list of things to do today – so I will be posting your videos to Ladystrength shortly 😉

    Feel better!

    Rebecca

  2. Madeline June 22, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    oh yeah….after my 1/2 marathon! a month before the 1/2 I came down with a foot injury. I continued training, (with the daily aid of Advil), completed the race, AND THEN, it set in! My foot injury was so severe, I had to give up running for several months. It drove me crazy!!!
    Sit tight………….

Leave a Reply

