Going on a Diet

22 Jun

Yesterday I did something for the first time in my life: I went on a diet.

After doing a lot of reading, Jamally decided he wanted to take part in the four-hour body diet. It’s a concept that cuts out dairy, carbs and fruit, leaving you to feast on meat, vegetables and legumes. One day a week, you get a cheat day, to help boost your metabolism (and return you back to sanity, I’m sure).

Wanting to drop a bit of a weight, Jamally said he was going to try it out. I said I would join him.

Darren, I will bring this book back to you today!

 

Jamally gave me a side glance, asking me why I would want to diet. I don’t need to lose weight, and I’m fully aware of that point.

But every day for the past few months, I’ve been getting headaches. Every day I struggle with them. So this diet will help me understand whether it’s food related or not. I have a feeling it may have to do with dairy, so we’ll see if I feel any better from nixing those foods.

Yesterday was Day 1.

Oh sweet merciful Ron Burgundy it was hard.

You’re allowed to eat as much as you want, but when you have a starch addiction, it doesn’t matter. I realized yesterday just how much I depend on heavy carbs to fill me up. It was a long day, and when watching television last evening, Jamally and I would see food commercials and go on and on and on about how we’ll incorporate those foods into our cheat days.

Here’s to Day 2. I actually don’t feel as bad as yesterday, and know that I need to keep fuelling throughout the day. I think it’s too early to tell about the headaches, but I’ll definitely keep updates on the blog.

Today’s Question: Have you ever gone on a diet? Did it make you want to break into a bakery and eat everything in sight?

9 Responses to “Going on a Diet”

  1. Amy June 22, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I’ve done every diet in the world, but that’s a story for another day.

    My dad followed Atkins for a few months. He was doing really well. That is until “it” happened.

    One day I came home, and he was sitting on the couch eating a huge salad-sized bowl of Raisin Bran like a madman proclaiming “I just can’t do it anymore”. I kid you not, his eyed were glazed over!

    Lesson learned: Watch out for Raisin Bran binges. They’re bad news.

  2. Rebecca Bakker June 22, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Keep in mind that you are basically detoxing – so you may go through headaches, tummy aches etc. Also – you don’t have to have a cheat day 😉

    If you are wondering about food intolerance causing your headache, a cheat day might make this tricky – perhaps use one particular food group to “cheat” with and you might get a more clear picture of what may be causing your headaches.

    Congrats on a successful first day! It does get easier – promise 😉

    Rebecca

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services June 22, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      I really like your suggestion about keeping one food group out. I think I’ll stick to cutting out dairy and seeing if that makes a difference. But that means no pizza, doesn’t it? 😦

  3. honeimprovement June 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I started this diet 10 days ago. Albiet a slightly modified version, as I am a vegetarian. Like you, I felt sluggish the first couple of days. But don’t worry, your energy levels will return in a day or 2 (I felt fine by day 3). Cheat day was nice because I could enjoy my fruit, heavy carbs and beer guilt-free knowing that it was part of the plan.
    Good luck with it!

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services June 23, 2011 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks for your note! It is getting easier, but after depending on carbs so much, my body got a little overwhelmed. I can’t wait until cheat day – it will be glorious!

  4. RoxAnne Darling June 23, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Hey glad to hear you are feeling better. I have been trying to stick to the Eat Right for Your Blood Type diet for the past year or so, not to lose weight but to relieve the symptoms of menopause. It has helped a lot .But unlike you I could lose more than a few pounds. Whenever I tell people I’m on the Eat Right Diet they automatically think, well it’s not working!!!! No I still have the same 20 pounds that I have wanted to lose for the past 5 years, I go down a few then back up. But I feel good, fewer hot flashes, sleeping better, less bloating/gas, (yes we all have it) overall fewer aches and pains. I think we should try to find a simple terminology for a restrictive diet. If I could come up with the right term, maybe certain people will stop asking me in a crowd of others, So RoxAnne how the diet is going. Should the most important part not be how good you feel? Forget about whether you could lose or for some gain a couple of pounds, making individual healthy eating choices one day at a time is the best way to feel good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Diet Cheat Day « On The Brink of 30 - June 27, 2011

    […] Jamally and I continue our four-hour body diet, we are granted one cheat day per week. No holds […]

  2. Four-Hour Diet: Week Three « On The Brink of 30 - July 12, 2011

    […] concludes week three of Jamally and I completing the four-hour diet. And this past week’s behaviour showed on the scale. Say What, […]

  3. Four Hour Body Diet Results « On The Brink of 30 - July 20, 2011

    […] Well, we did it! We’re done the four-hour body diet. […]

Leave a Reply

