Four-Hour Diet: Day Two

23 Jun

Thankfully, a lot can change in 24 hours. With our decision to test out the Four Hour Body Diet, I felt shaky and sluggish the first day. But yesterday was a lot better, and my body seemed to have somewhat accepted that Tim Horton’s Croissants weren’t on the menu.

After covering a late assignment last night, Jamally and I were still hungry, so we decided to pop out and grab something to eat. We headed to the Mexican Restaurant in town.

You know what they do at this Mexican restaurant? They give you a bowl of tortilla chips right away.

Me Casa, No Casa

Jamally and I glanced at one another, smiling. Then we opened the menu. It was the first time in my life I actually understood what it was like to eat with dietary restrictions. Everything either had some form of flour wrap or cheese mixed in to the dish. Rather than pick my top choice, I felt I had to settle with one thing.

So I ordered the Taco Salad. Without the tortilla pieces. Or Ranch dressing. And please, for the love of Ron Burgundy, do not serve it in the tortilla shell.

“Oh, it doesn’t come in the shell anymore,” the waitress said. Perfect.

And then the salad was served in a tortilla bowl.

Porque?!

The salad was consumed without touching the shell, and I’m still alive.

And the good news is, though it’s only been two days, I haven’t had a headache.

I’ve also felt weird over the past few days telling people I’m on a ‘diet’. A diet is always associated with losing weight, and that’s not my intention at all. So I’m trying to think of how to say it in a way that doesn’t make someone want to punch me in the face. Maybe I’ll say, “I’m restricting my diet.” Does that sound better?

 

Today’s Question: Have you had to ‘settle’ at a restaurant based on dietary restrictions?

*

P.S.- It’s Thursday!!

2 Responses to “Four-Hour Diet: Day Two”

  1. Yarrow June 23, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Why don’t you try to find something to say that doesn’t involve the word diet? Because really you aren’t on a diet you are just trying to see if you are intolerant to some food. Maybe just say that you are trying to cut out some foods commonly linked to headaches??? From reading it seems you are on a similar to gluten / lactose free eating plan. You could use words like modify, lifestyle change…
    I know one of my big side effects to gluten is headaches and when I went gluten free about 5 years ago I noticed the change within only a few days.

  2. Madeline June 23, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    whenever I have been on a “diet” I prefer to use the phrase, “I’m monitoring my intake.”

    Good for you for taking this on! I’ll be interested to see how you feel over the next week or two.

    After a month, I will pose the following question: what is more difficult? this “diet” or training for a marathon? 🙂

Leave a Reply

