Diet: Not Eating Party Food

30 Jun

Last night I attended a summer potluck party at a fellow boot camper’s home.

Being on this elimination diet (that’s what I now call it), I have learned some things when heading to events:

1. Eat before you go

Ok, that’s all I’ve learned.

Usually when I go to these kinds of parties, I’m excited to stuff my face with bad food and have a few glasses of wine. Last night’s party made me understand the diet’s actual restrictions, which tempted every single craving I have had over these past two weeks.

So when I arrived at the party, I realized it was going to be a challenge.

Nacho dip, pita bread, sliders, potato salad, homemade bread, Skor crack (yes, it’s crack), fudge*.

You name it, it was there.

The spread looked something like this:

Potluck and all its Glory

How can you not be tempted with this kind of spread?!

At one point (when the nacho dip was placed on the table directly in front of me), I actually said to myself, “just make today cheat day.”

But I didn’t.

Instead, I loaded my plate with ‘elimination diet’ friendly foods. And had no wine. or dessert.

Was it hard? Oh, sweet merciful Star Jones was it ever.

Using a boatload of willpower and stubborn measures, I got through it, and walked away with no regrets.

Although I couldn’t have the full menu, I had an amazing time!

*Note: This week’s cheat day will include nacho dip, pita bread, sliders, potato salad, homemade bread, skor crack (yes, it’s crack), fudge. You better believe it.

Question: Do you have willpower at Potluck Parties?

 

 

4 Responses to “Diet: Not Eating Party Food”

  1. Dana June 30, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    I’m not sure I ever have food-related willpower, let alone at parties 🙂 Kudos to you!

  2. Jill July 1, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    “Was it hard? Oh, sweet merciful Star Jones was it ever.”

    Hahahahahahahahaaaaaa!

    You make me laugh. 🙂

    That skor fudge would have made its way into my purse for “cheat week” (I mean “day”).

  3. Madeline July 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    I never have will power at pot lucks. I enjoy every bite of every dish. I am just thankful I don’t go to a lot of parties!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Four Hour Body Diet Results « On The Brink of 30 - July 20, 2011

    […] You will survive a potluck dinner […]

Leave a Reply

