Perth Kilt Run Race Review

4 Jul

The Perth Kilt Run was amazing!

The 8-km race took place in my hometown of Perth, Ontario, and it’s a special experience to run such a big race on home ground.

Source

The day started with picking up my race kit at the Crystal Palace. It wasn’t until I tried the kilt on one hour prior to the race when I discovered just how TIGHT it was on me. Oh, boy. I had to hike it up about two inches past my belly button to make it fit. I looked the true part of Steve Urkel.

'Did I Do That?!'

The race started at 6 pm and having not run for five weeks and dealing with a sore knee, I was worried about how I would feel. I sported a new pair of compression socks I received as a gift, and they were terrific.

Speaking on behalf of my legs, I felt great during the entire race. Speaking on behalf of my lungs, I was a hurting unit! I have lost a lot of my cardio. The sweltering heat didn’t help, but there were plenty of water stations along the way. Including an alcohol station. How did I miss that one?!

But with fans lining the streets, seeing my parents holding a “Go Cathy Go” sign, and running in a kilt, it was a fabulous time.

They left it for me at our house after the race. Aren't they cute?

My official race time was 47:38, putting me under a 6min/km pace, which I was happy with, considering my time on the sidelines, hot weather and HILLY route. Ok, I’m done complaining. Especially since there was free beer at the end of the race. Any race is a good race with that prize waiting for me at the finish line.

Jamally volunteered at the race, and said it was fun to watch as a spectator. He answered a lot of out-of-towners’ questions, and the race has made him want to run the Glen Tay Block Race in August.

I think I’ll join him!

4 Responses to “Perth Kilt Run Race Review”

  1. Em July 4, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Glad to hear your legs handled it well Cat!

  2. Judy July 4, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Wow, I’ve never heard of a Kilt run but that sounds like fun! Can’t imagine how uncomfortable of a run that would be if it was too small, but you found a good solution whether it looked funny or not.

  3. Hilary July 4, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I seriously thought your compression socks were just part of the Scottish theme! lol You had an awesome time to say you just had 5 weeks off too, congrats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

