Hosting Our First Garage Sale

5 Jul

When we got married, Jamally and I received some amazing wedding gifts.

Every time I cook, I am actually grateful about the items I get to use: carrot peeler, nice pots, matching mugs, a new knife set, a good blender!

The same goes for serving food, looking at special portraits or household items and having nice towels.

That being said, all the university-style household items we once used needed to take a hike.

Enter our first ever garage sale.

We hosted a garage sale Saturday morning (before the Perth Kilt Run, what was I thinking?!), and Friday night was spent cleaning out our basement, pricing items, re-pricing items and standing in awe at everything we have collected over the years.

I love to purge and the garage sale was exactly what we (sic: I) needed.

We got rid of our old student desk, television, plate sets, glasses, mismatched mugs – you name it!

My sister even sold her Santa apron which my mom purchased for each of us one Christmas. Like a good daughter, I kept mine 🙂

Sold!

Our location in town is prime and we learned a lot about garage salees (as we are the garage salers):

– It doesn’t matter what time you post the opening time. They’ll be there by 6:30 a.m.

– $2 for a shirt? Too much.

– Apparently they need a half-working camera, even though they were warned.

What did I learn? You can’t be nostalgic about items if you wanna get them off your lawn.

“I’ll give you $10 for the television,” one salee said.

‘$10?! That’s the television I purchased when in university and I worked my butt off bartending one summer,’ I thought to myself. ‘It’s also the same television that’s almost 10 years old and makes a piercing sound for the first five minutes of play.’

“Sold!”

Today’s Questions: Are you a saver or a purger? What have you learned from hosting garage sales?

2 Responses to “Hosting Our First Garage Sale”

  1. madeline bouvier July 5, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I’m a purger. Purging is as therapeutic as a body massage. (I know, I need to get a life.) 🙂
    I love to clean out closets, drawers, cupboards and especially my fridge! Nothing like a clean fridge.
    I had a garage sale in May, in preparation for our upcoming move to Kingston in August. Did I dicker with people? Hell, no! I think my garage sale was the cheapest one in history! I should have called it a “Garage Give Away” because I simply gave most things away. I still have half a dozen items in my garage that I need to get rid of before we move……..

Leave a Reply

