Lowering our Bell Bill

13 Jul

When Jamally returns home tonight from work, he is going to be in Heaven.

Heaven I tells ya!

Flashback:

Every time I pay our Bell bill, my financial ulcer grows as I feel we pay SO much for our television, internet and phone.

For a few months, Jamally and I have thrown around the idea to cancel our satellite and order Netflix. That way we would save nearly tens of tens dollars each month. ๐Ÿ™‚

I called Bell to say we are thinking of cancelling our satellite because it’s too much, and they put me over to the loyalty department. Not only did they drop our monthly satellite bill down $25, they also threw in an HD Receiver.

I’ve done this before with Bell, and here’s my advice: Call your service provider and see about getting a deal. This is the second time I’ve done it, and by making one phone call, I’ve saved our household $300 this year. That’s a few weeks of grocery bills, baby!

Present Day:

This is where the Jamally Heaven bit comes in.

The Tech Dude came over this morning and set up our HD Receiver. After purchasing a new television last September, Jamally’s been wanting to get it, but I haven’t been sold on forking over the money for the receiver.

But, wow.

The quality is riDQculous! (What?! Skor Blizzard?)

'Farewell to Fat!'

Ok, I know the quality doesn’t show through the lens, but believe me, it does.

Regardless of the HD quality, I’m always so excited when I get a deal just by speaking up.

I should really do it more often!

‘Tux! Your Vet bills are too high!”

I feel better already….

*

Today’s Question: What have you done to get a deal?

 

8 Responses to “Lowering our Bell Bill”

  1. Jill July 13, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    You’re so funny! I especially loved the following:

    “The quality is riDQculous! (What?! Skor Blizzard?)”

    and

    “Ok, I know the quality doesnโ€™t show through the lens, but believe me, it does.”

    Heeeehehheee! (Just had to get that out of my system.)

    (Straightens up)

    Bell blows so hard, in my books. I haven’t had great customer service with them, but I’m glad to hear you did!

    I wonder how many Skor blizzards one could buy with an extra $300 a year? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services July 13, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      I’ve heard so many Bell horror stories, too! But we’ve seemed to have good luck with them. Maybe they’re afraid of me at this point!
      Based on my calculations, I could purchase approximately 60 Skor blizzards with that cash!

      • Jill July 15, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

        “Based on my calculations, I could purchase approximately 60 Skor blizzards with that cash!”

        And THAT’S why I think you’re so awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Amy July 13, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I just sent Andrew an email that said: “Go read Cathy’s blog” as we are having Bell/Rogers/Cable discussions right now.

    We had initially thought that maybe we just might not get cable.

    Not even a week into it, I’m dying. Even though I don’t watch a lot of TV… in the last week I’ve missed 1) Jeter’s 3000th hit 2) True Blood 3) Bachelorette (can’t believe I admitted that) and 4) All-Star Game.

    HD here we come!

  3. Andrew Bellamy July 13, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Good Job with Bell, and ps, Amy would never watch an entire ball game on tv, fact!

    If it is not a PVR, you can actually just add an external hard drive too
    Who ever the techie is, check out the link

    http://support.bell.ca/en-on/TV/Receivers/How_to_turn_my_Bell_HD_receiver_into_a_PVR?step=2

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Workout and Oatmeal Pancake « On The Brink of 30 - July 14, 2011

    […] I was oohing and awwing every single time he passed by me while I ate it while watching the news on HD. And I wonder why he leaves so early for work every […]

Leave a Reply

