My Garage Sale Running Shoes

18 Jul

I don’t even know how to begin this posting today without feeling embarrassed. And slightly proud.

On Saturday evening Jamally and I headed downtown to have some food and a couple of drinks. We had a great time catching up and the weather was terrific. It was the perfect summer evening.

Then, on our way home, we passed by a home that hosted a garage sale earlier that day. They had leftover stuff left out on their front yard for anyone’s taking. That’s when I spotted a pair of running shoes.

FLASHBACK: I recently had a consultation for orthodics. I don’t want to get them, but one thing the chiropractor told me was that my current size 8.5 Asics running shoes are curved, but my foot structure is very straight. This makes for a bad match, as my foot then gets smushed inside the shoe.

Paula Abdul is Wrong in this Case: opposites don't attract.

When I passed the garage sale leftovers, I noticed a box of shoes. I never, ever pick up items from the street. But then I spotted a pair of running shoes: Size 8.5 Asics. And it’s a different, less curvy model.

“Can I take these?”, I called out to Jamally, who was already halfway up the street at this point.

Turning he replies, with a weirded-out look: “It’s garage sale leftovers. It’s there for you to take.”

I spotted our neighbours walking across the street, and I was so embarrassed I didn’t want them to see me picking through a garage sale box. Casually – and awkwardly – I stood by the box until they passed by. I rummaged through the box to find the matching shoe and then bolted.

Excited and slightly nervous, I was curious to see about my new shoes.

Ghetto Superstar.

I Febreezed the hectic out of them and headed out last night for yet another attempt to run without any pain.

Eight kilometres later, I finished a run with a new running buddy, and there was no pain. My feet felt as though they were laying flat in the shoe, as opposed to crunched up inside.

My ghetto garage sale shoes pulled through for me, and gave me something I haven’t been able to do in nearly two months – run pain free.

Today’s Question: On a Scale of 1-10, how Ghetto am I?

4 Responses to “My Garage Sale Running Shoes”

  1. Anne July 18, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    “Ghetto” is not the word I would choose. “Lucky” would be though!!! I’ve been trying to find “the” pair of shoes for almost 2 years now, and no dice. If those FREE shoes work for you, that is AWESOME! I’m pretty jealous 🙂

  2. Jill July 18, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    “How Ghetto am I?”

    Just Ghetto enough, I think!

    Great score with the shoes!!!

    It would have been crazy to walk away from them.

  3. madeline bouvier July 18, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    You know I’m all about a good deal,so this is fantastic. However, I would be concerned that these shoes are aleady molded to someone elses foot and not yours. (OMG, I sound like my mother) She would never let me wear hand-me-down shoes because of this. What the heck, go for it! Glad your run was a success!

  4. Stephanie Gray July 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Wow. Dem is some nice-lookin shoes!

Leave a Reply

