Dog Toy Heaven

19 Jul

Good morning, world!

Today I woke up to a breakfast prepared for me: bacon, eggs and toast. On a Tuesday – imagine!

You’d think I’d be the happiest person in the household today. And I was, that is, until Tux learned he was recently given second-hand dog toys.

As you may know, Tux tends to keep things around for a while – even when they’re past due. As fun as it may be to watch him play with the toys, it’s not worth the money to see him ruin these purchases in minutes, so we never buy him dog toys anymore.

Our sister’s dog loves to jump after sticks in the water, but she isn’t a fan of dog toys. So when my sister starting to purge some household items, her dog’s toy bin was put in the ‘pass this along to the dog cousin’ pile.

She handed them over to me last night, and Tux was privy to be given a duck and a ball this morning.

Pouncing...

Thrashing...

Suspicious...

Annoyed...

 

We usually time how long these toys will last, as Tux’s mission is to rip these toys apart as fast as he can.

They usually go to dog toy heaven in a matter of minutes.

 

No ducks were harmed in the making of this posting...

 

Tux spotted where we hid this dog toy bin, so now he’s obsessed about obtaining a new toy.

 

Full on Pout

As I write this, he’s whining in the living room.

This morning I’ve learned two things: we are obsessed with our dog’s behaviour and it may be time to have kids so that we seem a little less crazy.

 

Today’s Question: When did you realize you were obsessed with your pet?

4 Responses to “Dog Toy Heaven”

  1. Amy July 19, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    I laughed when I read this.

    I’m flat out obsessed with Jersey, but can you blame me? She is all kinds of awesome. 🙂

    Next babysitters club meeting, we’ll elect a president of the “I’m obsessed with my dog” club. Deal?

  2. Madeline July 20, 2011 at 5:32 am #

    …….When I started missing him as much as I miss my kids! Is that crazy or what?! 🙂

  3. Jill July 20, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    The “suspicious” picture made me laugh out loud. Our smallest dog has that same look when he’s carrying a bone in his mouth and he’s afraid (I’m assuming) we’ll take it from him.

    Tux is such a superstar and should have his own show. I think he’d make an awesome bounty/bone hunter.

    “When did you realize you were obsessed with your pet?”

    I realized it gradually, mostly from days and days of going to work with hair-covered (otherwise clean) clothing. Also, I noticed recently that my shopping cart is typically full of pet-related items and very few human-related items.

    Finally, I find that I tend to ask strangers if they have pets; that seems to be my “I hate silence so I have to say something” thing when I meet someone new. So, yeah, I realize that I feel most comfortable talking about my pets and other’s pets for some odd reason.

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services July 22, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      I’m totally with you on the talking to strangers about pets deal. I love spotting other dog owners in the park and comparing notes on our dogs behaviours, antics and ailments.
      PS – Tux would make the worst bone hunter. Ever. Just an FYI.

Leave a Reply

