Our Wedding Proposal Anniversary

21 Jul

Two years ago yesterday, Jamally asked me a life-changing question.

He asked me where he left his car keys.

No, wait, that was today.

On May 26, 2009, Tuxedo was born (he’s really taking over this blog, isn’t he?). Jamally’s co-worker’s dogs had pups, so we took them up on their offer to take one. We went to their place, and with four black dogs and two whites ones, we picked one of the black ones.

Cuddlers, unite!

Those next few weeks, we were excited about getting him and came up with the name associated with his colouring layout – Tuxedo. We were to get him the end of July.

On Monday, July 20, 2009, I walked home from work. I spotted a bouquet of flowers on the table. “Weird,” I thought. “Jamally made an effort, and on a Monday!”

Jamally poked his head around the corner, with a ridiculously huge smile on his face.

As per usual, I got suspicious with such a greeting. He came out from around the corner, holding Tux.

Tux was wearing a red ribbon around his neck.

The red ribbon was holding a ring.

Who Needs Pigeons as Messengers?

Jamally asked a question, and you can probably predict my answer.

He later joked he knew I couldn’t say no with a puppy in his hands.

Dogs with Jobs

He may be right, but it worked.

Today’s Question: What is the most romantic thing your partner has done for you?

3 Responses to “Our Wedding Proposal Anniversary”

  1. Anne July 21, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    That has got to be one of the sweetest proposals EVER. I, like you, could not say no in the presence of a puppy!! Super sweet!!

    The day I got my braces on in high school, my boyfriend (now husband!) showed up at my door with roses and told me I was still beautiful. My heart melted a little that day!

  2. kristinesimpson July 25, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    That is such a cute proposal.

    One summer, while I was in Ottawa working and my partner was in Waterloo studying, I was feeling the long distance effect takes its toll. I was really missing him, but between his studies and my work, we hardly saw each other.

    On my birthday that summer, I was especially sad and lonely, because it would be the first birthday I spend without him.

    My partner gave me a call on my birthday and wished me a happy birthday, he could tell by my voice I was not pleased and not happy that he wasn’t there. All of a sudden someone knocked at my door. To my surprise there he was all dressed up holding a bouquet of flowers. Needless to day, best birthday ever!

    To give you some more context, it takes about 6 hours to drive from Waterloo to Ottawa. And even though he only stayed for the day, he has never missed a birthday.

Leave a Reply

