Thank Our Stars

25 Jul

Last Friday I grumbled about the heat. While I’d prefer the heat over cold, I’m guilty in that I’m quick to complain about inconveniences caused by MN (Mother Nature!).

The house is hot. I can’t run in the rain. The snakes by the river freak me out.

Ok, that last one was a little off-center from my point, but you get the…ahh…points.

These past few days I’ve been covering a local story in nearby Smiths Falls, where First Nations from northwestern Ontario had to evacuate their homes due to the smoke caused by nearby forest fires. More than half of the community is currently staying in Smiths Falls, while the remaining residents are either still in their community or housed somewhere else in the province.

Hosting a Press Conference in Smiths Falls

They had 45 minutes to pack up. They flew in an army plane. They didn’t even know where they were going. And now they don’t know when they’re going back.

Facing chronic illness and a major shift in their diets, they’re just going day by day, sleeping on cots in a massive, un-air-conditioned building.

It made me Thank Our Stars. Not to be said in a pedantic way, but just that it gave me perspective.

Maybe for a day it will stop me from complaining about the heat. Or my running injuries. Or the snakes by the rivers.

Today’s Question: What events have given you perspective?

 

 

4 Responses to “Thank Our Stars”

  1. Madeline July 25, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    thanks for once again opening the door……………….
    the most recent experience I have had is; reading a story about a 21 year old woman who has spent the last two years battling cancer! Her story is so real and hit home because I have 20 and 16 year old daughters.
    It certainly puts everything else in perspective.

  2. Friends of Murphys Point July 25, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    And what EXACTLY do you have against snakes by the river?
    😉

Leave a Reply

