Green Monster

27 Jul

Happy Hump Day, ya’ll!

I knew it was Hump Day when I saw the Town Crier in Shopper’s Drug Mart today: he told me so. Smile

After being out of the home office all morning, I came home and was – as my nephew used to say – ‘stawvin’ hungwy’.

I honestly don’t know what’s come over me, but I came home and consumed a leftover salad and a smoothie. Seriously, someone call a doctor.

I loaded the salad with homemade roasted salt and vinegar chick peas. Delish.

P1000564

I recently came across Angela’s Green Monster Movement website, where she has a passion to share her love for green smoothies.

She has soooo many green smoothie recipes, and since I bought a pint of blueberries this week – half of which would most likely by tossed out – I tried out her Blueberry Green Monster.

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 tbsp flax seed
  • ice

Delish, part deux!

Green Monster Smoothie

Spinach scares me, but I’m slowly overcoming my fear. Beets also scare me. Haven’t even attempted that one.

While outside, I thought it’s a good time to give you an update on our crazy garden.

Remember our Garden in May?

P1000327

Now check it out. It’s insane.

P1000561

P1000559

The colours are beautiful, but it still overwhelms me.

Today’s Question: What food scares you, and have you overcome your fear?

6 Responses to “Green Monster”

  1. Madeline July 27, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Next time you are here for dinner, I’m going to make you my beet and goat cheese dish. It is amazing! It
    It will help you overcome your fear of beets.

  2. Amy July 28, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    Beets also scare the bejesus out of me.

    While I would eat goat cheese off the ground and apparently they go well together, they just don’t jive.

    I think I’m scarred for life because of Clare as a small child. I have these vivid images of her eating those disgusting pickled beets and there being pink juice all over everything. Nasty.

  3. Jill July 30, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Condiments scare me, namely ketchup, mustard, and relish. Mayo — and anything mayo-based — is the scariest for me, though; I feel sick just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

