Almost a Bad Day

3 Aug

Whoa….today almost immediately turned into a bad day. Almost.

While getting dressed this morning for a big day at the office (tank top and Lululemon capris), I heard deafening brakes screech outside our home.

Dang. We didn’t put the recycling out.

The recycling system in our town stresses me out. It’s fine to have three different coloured bins. But when two of them are picked up only every other week, we’re screwed if we miss a week.

So when I heard the garbage truck brakes screech (like nails on a chalkboard) by our place, I stressed. Frustrated, I groaned, with no one listening to me. The others were still nestled in bed.

Only to discover they had come to pick up the green bin (weekly) and not the yellow bin (every other week).

I actually felt as though I won the lottery.

Running downstairs as quickly as possible, I grabbed the yellow bin and it’s now sitting curb side, waiting to be picked up.

P1000673

Like I said, today was almost a bad day.

You’re right. It was awesome.

Today’s Question: Am I the only one who stresses about recycling?

3 Responses to “Almost a Bad Day”

  1. Sue August 3, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    I do the same thing, did it yesterday and luckily they were picking up the other side of the road first. What really stresses me out is most weeks, they pick it up in the afternoon, but the odd week they pick it up before 8am in the morning! When I hear the truck and miss it, I run my recycling across the street to the neighbours and leave my bin with theirs and then go get it right after it’s been picked up!

  2. Madeline August 4, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    sorry girls…..it’s actually quite easy. Just take a peek outside, first thing in the morning, (I mean 6:00 a.m.) and see what all your (more organized) neighbours have out. If there are 5 or 6 houses with the same bins out, they must be correct. I proceed accordingly.
    And this is ONLY when hubby is away. Otherwise, he is responsible for looking after the trashes.
    Hope you can get on top of this, Cathy. Better yet, get Jamally on it!

  3. Stephanie Gray August 4, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    I love all the pretty colours. I know which bin goes out by what is overflowing into our spare purple bin (the overflow catcher). We have a veritable rainbow at the curb each week.

Leave a Reply

