Picking a Living Room Paint Colour

9 Aug

Remember that time I decided it was time to transform our entire house?

I’ve been lying awake in bed these past two weeks, thinking of different ways to beautify our home.

Yesterday, my hairdresser – like everyone else – said I must be nesting. Nope, I’m not nesting. I realized when speaking with her that it’s to fill my time. My time was previously filled with marathon training.

Now that it’s over, I’m moving on to the next thing. And my living room walls are the victim.

Our friend suggested painting our living room to help bring warmth to the room. The previous tenant wanted everything white. White walls, white moulding, white bathroom. White.

To help determine the chosen colour, our friend also suggested utilizing our couch pillows. S.M.R.T.

P1000726

(Yes, that is a stuffed owl in the background. It’s a childhood toy and Tux wants to eat her for breakfast.)

I took our couch pillow into the local paint store, Decorating by Design, and asked the owner for her thoughts.

She gave really good advice about using browns. Some browns belong to the pink family, while others belong to the orange family (insert Orange you Glad joke here). Because our pillows have that orange warmth, we headed in that direction.

I purchased a sample of Benjamin Moore’s Boardwalk.

P1000721

The owner recommended I paint it on a piece of Bristol board, so we could walk it around to see the colour in different corners of the room.

Hmmmm…..Bristol board isn’t exactly a regular inventory piece in our household. So I chose the next best thing.

Extra Thank You cards from our wedding.

P1000723P1000724

It worked like a charm, allowing us to determine if it’s the best colour.

P1000722

We like it!

It has warmth to it, but isn’t overpowering. With Jamally on holidays this week, he’s really excited for my project task list. Who wouldn’t be?!

I swear, I’m not nesting.

 

Today’s Question: When you decide to paint the entire house, who does the job for you?

4 Responses to “Picking a Living Room Paint Colour”

  1. Liz August 9, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Is that Whootessa Owl?! Oh the flood of University memories!!

  2. Madeline August 9, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    LOVE the colour!!! Exciting. Can’t wait to see the transformation. Our house in Kingston is on its way to a full transformation too. Can’t wait til it’s done.
    Good luck!

  3. Jill August 9, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    I love that you’re making your house a home! (Too cheesy?)

    I’m a bit fan of browns for warming a place up.

    I’m also a bit fan of ice cream, but that’s another story altogether.

    Can’t wait to see the finished product(s)!

Leave a Reply

