Smiths Falls!

16 Aug

I recently had an appointment with my physician and when asking if I had any concerns I wanted to share, I thought for a moment.

I was about to bring up being a golfer’s widow (seriously, does that joke get old? I think know it’s past its prime), but I couldn’t come up with any health concerns.

Then he asked me: “How’s your hearing?”

“What?”, I replied.

I often struggle to hear well when in crowded places and many times, if I don’t re-ask a question, I simply smile and nod. My sister and I both have troubles and when together, we often look at one another for guidance on what was said. Together, we can usually piece the phrases together. Our husbands can’t help but tease us.

I told my doctor about this, and he’s sending me to an audiologist.

I shared this to friends on the weekend, and recalled a story often told in our household.

Here goes (I’m probably mixing my facts a bit):

My grandmother and her sister both had hearing problems. As they got older, their hearing got worse.

One day, my aunt went and got a new hearing aid. When she saw my grandmother soon after, she bragged and raved about the hearing device’s success, stating it has helped her hearing problems immensely.

Intrigued, my grandmother asked my aunt: “How much did it cost?”

My aunt replied: “Smiths Falls!”

It doesn’t get any better than that.

Today’s Question: What’s your Family Joke?

3 Responses to “Smiths Falls!”

  1. madeline bouvier August 16, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Too funny!!! Love it! i’m giggling.

  2. Heidi August 16, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Very funny! Love reading your stories. 🙂

  3. Jill August 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Heheheheheeee!

Leave a Reply

