Xerox 10 km Race Review

17 Aug

Hellooo, Highlight of the Summer!

Two months ago we were at Jamally’s Aunt R’s house for a gathering and she mentioned she had signed up for the Xerox 10 km race. It would be her first race.

We asked if we could tag along for the run, and she agreed.

Xerox 10 km

It took place last night at the Experimental Farm in Ottawa. It’s a 3-km loop, and for you mathematicians out there, we had to run it three times.

For you real mathematicians, each loop was just over three kilometres.

The loop starts off with a downhill slope, slowly zig-zagging its way down to the water. You have a straight stretch along the bike lanes, making for some gorgeous scenery.

That’s when the hill starts. I ran this race six years ago, and remember the hill. I thought maybe my memory was exaggerating the hill’s difficulty. I had hoped. But nope. It wasn’t dope (poet, don’t know it, etc.).

It was a three-part hill which began with a gradual rise, followed by a steep jerkstore of a hill, finishing off with a long slow climb to the end of the loop. Times that by three and it makes for a challenging course.

I finished the first loop in 19:48. Number two at 36:44 and ended with a time of 53:52, making it an official personal best for a 10 km!

Jamally did well, too, especially since I consider him a racer, as opposed to a runner. How he pulls off these runs, I’ll never know. Smile

But the big story of the evening was Aunt R. As her first race, she had trained hard and read up all everything running. She was ready for this race and it showed. She was smiling at the end and finished the race 1.5 minutes below her goal time.

It was amazing to be able to be there for her first race.

How do we know she liked the experience? Five minutes after finishing, she started talking about her next race. I think we have an addict!

Of course, I’m brutal, and forgot my camera. So here’s last night’s running roster:

Aunt Rosemary

Here’s a collective summary of our thoughts on the race:

  • It’s a nice, quiet race with only 230 runners;
  • It’s cheap at $25 a pop, with t-shirt and chipped timing included; and
  • It’s a tough course, but with a nice backdrop.

Our summary: We would do it again!

As we left Ottawa following dinner, I told Jamally it was the Highlight of my Summer. Great job, Aunt R!

7 Responses to “Xerox 10 km Race Review”

  1. kristinesimpson August 17, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I absolutely love the Xerox Run. I have a soft side for it, because it is the first race I ever ran, back in 2009. From there I continued to train and in May 2010 I ran my first marathon. But I didn’t stop there, I kept going and in September 2010 I did my first triathlon. And I haven’t stopped since. That 3 km race is where it all began.

    For some reason, with the busy summer I have been having I thought I still had time before the race. I just realized now I missed the race. I am so sad.

    I guess, I will see you there next year then!

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services August 18, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

      Isn’t it amazing how it starts with your first race! Congrats on all that you’ve completed in such a short timespan, that’s amazing!

  2. Dana August 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Well done! A PR and a giant hill? Awesome!

  3. Jill August 18, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    I used to work on the Experimental Farm and loved running there. It felt like I wasn’t in a city, which I enjoyed.

    Love reading about your runs and about new runners! Congrats to your Aunt!

    • Jill August 18, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      (shakes head)

      Forgot to congratulate you on your PR!

      BIG question: what was for dinner afterwards? 🙂

Leave a Reply

