Re-finishing Furniture Report

18 Aug

When I started to re-finish our blanket chest, I was sure it would take only a day. Perhaps two.

One week later, it’s still sitting in the kitchen, laughing at me each time I walk by.

It required cleaning, sanding, cleaning again, staining, drying, pulling off stuck on dog hair, top coating, drying, top coating again and drying.

Now I have to spray paint the hardware.

Then I’ll have to have a drink.

I spoke with my former boss at a function last night who shared his re-finishing story. He wanted to strip his patio of the old paint job, and figured he’d be done in a day. Four hours later, he had only completed the top railing.

I often visit the website, Better After (Warning: It’s addictive!), and was inspired by the re-finished hutches, lamps and bedrooms.

And then I worked on the blanket chest.

Re-finishing furniture is like a bad infomercial – it’s misleading. It’s not an easy job, and many times I figured the money I put into the products, plus my time, would have gotten us a brand new table. So hopefully the end result will be worth it, and my labour of love (and anger) will pay off. *Fake Smiles*

I hope to post its completion tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Re-finishing Furniture Report”

  1. Amy August 18, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    You need a lovely cousin that enjoys this type of work!

    I’m sure if Scott read this post, he could totally relate though after the countless hours it took him to refinish our kitchen table.

    I have a coffee table that I’m saving to make my first big project. After reading this though, I’m not so sure!

  2. Madeline August 18, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    I hear ya! I too, thought that a refinishing project would take only a day or two. WRONG!! That was 25 years ago and to say the least, I haven’t tackled another refinishing project since!!!
    I think your blanket chest is going to looking amazing! Can’t wait to see it.

  3. Jill August 18, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I’m proud of you!

    The chest is another marathon, sort of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

