Good Advice from a Good Friend

25 Aug

When you think about getting dolled up for a night out with the girls, you don’t think about dressing like this:

80s night

Do you?

Two nights ago we had a boot camp farewell party for my friend Madeline – 80’s theme, baby.

This is what she wore.

The sad part is you can’t even see the hot pink fanny pack she’s sporting.

She is moving away to Kingston this week with her family, and I’ve become great friends with her over the past two years.

She is funny. Type A. Athletic. Hard Working. Crazy.

Characteristics I value in a friend.

She’s also great at giving advice or providing insight in stressful times. I’ve utilized her advice many times.

Here’s a snippet.

“Everything always seems worse at night.” : this advice really helped me when I first travelled to Australia on my own two years ago. When alone at night, I would get homesick, and remember Madeline’s advice. Sure enough, come morning, I always felt better.

“No one cares how busy you are”: I can’t tell you how many times I catch myself wanting to explain to clients why I’m busy, or why I can’t meet with them immediately. Don’t give a long, drawn out story, just get to the point. So true.

“People should take care of their back sides, too!”: Madeline refers to shaving the back of the legs and properly straightening or curling your hair in back of your head. You think no one notices the back because you don’t see it, but it’s not true. I hate her for this insight, as I now think about that point every time I shave my back hair legs.

“A Bottle of Wine is Better Shared with a Friend” : Ok, I just made that one up. But she and I have shared many glasses of Lindeman’s Bin 45 together, and we always have good conversation and plenty of laughs. I’ll miss that.

I hope Madeline has a fabulous time in Kingston, and I’m jealous she’ll have constant access to spin classes at Good Life Fitness.

I know she’ll easily make new friends, find a great job, and love life in her new surroundings. But, with any new adventure, nerves may creep into one’s thoughts.

Here’s some advice I hope she uses when taking on this new adventure:

“In the universe, there are things that are known, and things that are unknown, and in between, there are doors.”
William Blake

Madeline always opens doors for herself as she works hard and puts herself out there. I have no doubt she’ll have an amazing new adventure.

Let’s just hope she doesn’t flaunt the fanny pack around her neighbourhood!

LYYK!

Today’s Question: What is some advice a friend has given you that you’ll always carry with you?

Today’s Second Question: What do you think of Madeline’s Glasses?

6 Responses to “Good Advice from a Good Friend”

  1. Amy August 25, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I love this post…. and those glasses.

  2. Madeline August 25, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I have a friend who has taught me a lot, not only through advice but also through her actions. She ran a marathon. Not only did she run a marathon, she ran it with all the “right stuff” and for the right reasons. During the training for this marathon, the actual marathon and the aftermath of the marathon, she shared this experience with us via her fantastic blog. Every day I was anxious to read that blog!!
    Her training and participation in this marathon taught me to be happy with one’s own achievements, not to compare oneself to others. Enjoy the journey! Enjoy what got you to the finish line!! And remember, “The hay is in the barn!” And I have taken her perspective and have used it on many occassion already. And I will tuck her example in with my suitcase as I head to Kingston, certain to utilize it whenever necessary.

    LYYK.

  3. Madeline August 25, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Luc wants me to tell you that his grandfather gave him some valuable advise when he was young;

    “Don’t Eat Yellow Snow!”

  4. Jill August 28, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Where’s the picture of your outfit? 🙂

    Madeline’s outfit is awesome. Her glasses remind me of mine from when I was a kid and was called “the bumblebee.” Good times. 🙂

    I love Madeline’s pearls of wisdom. She sounds like a great friend.

    In tough times, my best friend will usually say “Bootstraps, baby!” This essentially means that it’s necessary to pull yourself up by your bootstraps and move forward.

Leave a Reply

